University of Portland Logo

University of Portland

Portland, OR | Private Nonprofit | University

University of Portland has an acceptance rate of 89.2%, an average net price of $28,803, and an overall rank of #110 (Grade A). About 80.5% of students graduate within 150% of normal time, and median earnings are $83,202 five years after graduation. Data from the U.S. Department of Education and EDsmart's 2026 rankings.

University of Portland is a private nonprofit university in Portland, OR. Students most often pursue Computer Science and Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing.

Academically, students benefit from a 9:1 student-faculty ratio, and 88.3% first-year retention. Peer cohorts and advising networks provide scaffolding that keeps newcomers anchored during demanding semesters.

EDsmart calculates return on investment at 66.4%, roughly 16.5 points higher than typical outcomes. It's a compelling fit for students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore and students looking for meaningful faculty access.

A
Ranking
#110 of 1,934
How We Rank Schools Higher pay after college
At a Glance
Ranking
#110 of 1,934 (Top 5.7%)
Tuition
$60,100
Net Price
$28,803
4-Year Tuition
$240,400
Acceptance Rate
89.2%
Transfer Rate
8.7%
Student Population
2,957
Student-Faculty
9:1
Grad Rate (150% time)
80.5%
Grad Rate (8-year)
80.2%
Retention Rate
88.3%
4-Yr Earnings
$83,202
ROI
Not reported

Who is University of Portland Best For?

A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.

Students who thrive with close mentoring
Students aiming for strong salaries
Students seeking strong career outcomes
Students valuing supportive learning environments

EDsmart Scores Summary

Overall Ranking
#110 of 1,934
Top 5.7% of all institutions
EDsmart Score
94.4 / 100 (national index)
Curved score (top institution = 100.0)
Value Rating
4.72 / 5
Based on ROI and outcomes
Completion
A
#202 of 1,934
Affordability
C
#1,616 of 1,934
Support
A-
#190 of 1,934
Career Outcomes
A
#136 of 1,934

University of Portland graduates 80.5% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 80.2% and keeps 88.3% of first-year students. Affordability earns a C compared with similar schools.

How we calculate this →

Cost & Financial Aid

Quick Answers

What does it cost?
Depends on income
$20,181-$42,792 annual net price based on family income.
What's the graduation rate?
Highly likely
80.5% graduate within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings). The federal 8-year award rate is 80.2%. 66.5% complete in four years (IPEDS 100% time).
What are job outcomes?
Highly likely
95.7% of alumni are employed within three years of leaving. Median earnings five years after graduation are $83,202. Pay varies by major.
Get Your Personalized Cost Estimate

The costs shown are averages. Use University of Portland's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.

Calculate Your Net Price →

Total Degree Cost Summary

4-Year Total Cost (Pay with Cash)
$307,264
$76,816 × 4 years
Average Total Cost (Pay with Financial Aid)
$125,230
$28,803 × 4.3 years average
Time to Degree
Average: 4.3 years | 4-Year Rate: 66.5% | 6-Year Rate: 80.5% | 8-Year Rate: 80.2%
Most students finish in about four to five years. Four-year completion is 66.5% and six-year completion is 80.5%.

Annual Cost Comparison

Pay with Cash
$76,816
Total annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses; excluding any financial aid, grants or scholarships.
Pay with Financial Aid
$28,803
Average annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses after financial aid, grants or scholarships.

Est. annual aid gap: $48,013 Cash cost of attendance minus average net price after aid.

Cost of Undergraduate Attendance

Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.

View cost of attendance line items
Costs to Consider Price
Tuition and Fees $60,100
Books and Supplies $990
On-Campus Room and Board $17,432
On-Campus Other Expenses $1,816
Total On-Campus Cost $76,816

Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.

Students Receiving Aid

Pell Grant
30.9%
Federal Loan
41.3%

Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.

EDsmart Insight: About 30.9% of University of Portland students receive Pell Grants — slightly below the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.

Net Price by Family Income

Average annual net price after financial aid, based on family income. Your actual cost may vary depending on your specific financial situation.

$0 - $30,000
$20,181
Average annual cost for families earning $0-$30K
$30,001 - $48,000
$19,172
Average annual cost for families earning $30K-$48K
$48,001 - $75,000
$21,362
Average annual cost for families earning $48K-$75K
$75,001 - $110,000
$27,553
Average annual cost for families earning $75K-$110K
$110,001+
$42,792
Average annual cost for families earning $110K+

Understanding These Numbers: Net price varies significantly by income level. Net prices range from $20,181 to $42,792 depending on family income. Use University of Portland's net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Typical total cost estimates (~4.3 years):
$0-$30K families
~$87,743
$30K-$48K families
~$83,357
$48K-$75K families
~$92,878
$75K-$110K families
~$119,796
AFFORDABILITY ALERT

If your family earns $75K-$110K: Expect to pay around $27,553/year

If your family earns $110K+: Expect to pay around $42,792/year

See all income brackets →

ROI & Career Outcomes

Return on Investment
Not reported
Based on median earnings five years after graduation vs. total degree cost
  • Median Earnings (5 Years After Graduation) $83,202
  • 10-Year Median Earnings $85,634
  • Average Years to Graduate 4.3 years
  • Average Student Debt $20,500
  • Debt-to-Earnings ~24.6%
  • Repayment Rate (3yr) 86.6%
  • Employment Rate 95.7%

Graduate Earnings Distribution

Earnings range for University of Portland graduates about 10 years after enrollment (25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile). Different horizon than median earnings five years after graduation above.

Graduates earn a median of $83,202 five years after graduation — roughly 35% above the national median.
Payback Period
1.51 years
Total Degree Cost ÷ Annual Earnings

University of Portland vs. National Average

Comparison of key performance metrics showing how University of Portland's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes University of Portland's performance within the broader higher education landscape.

Acceptance & Selectivity

Getting In

Acceptance Rate
89.2%
Lightly Selective
National Average
69%
Average acceptance rate
  • SAT Evidence-Based Reading 580-670
  • SAT Math 580-700
  • SAT Writing Not reported
  • ACT Composite 25-31
  • SAT & ACT Required
  • Undergraduate Enrollment 2,957
  • Full-Time Students 98.6%
  • Part-Time Students 1.4%
  • Retention Rate 88.3%
  • Grad Rate (150% time) 80.5%
  • Grad Rate (8-year) 80.2%
  • Student-Faculty Ratio 9:1

How to Get Into University of Portland

1. Meet Academic Requirements: University of Portland requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.

2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.

3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of 89.2%, University of Portland is relatively open. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.

4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.

Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.

EDsmart Insight: With a 89.2% acceptance rate, University of Portland is more accessible than highly selective schools. Meeting the test score ranges and maintaining a solid GPA significantly improves admission chances. The middle 50% of admitted students score between 1160 and 1370 on the SAT.

Academic Programs

Undergraduate Program Distribution

Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among University of Portland undergraduates. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing, Biology, General, and Psychology, General draw the most students.

  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing 21.2%
  • Biology, General 12.5%
  • Psychology, General 6.0%
  • Marketing 5.4%
  • Mechanical Engineering 5.3%
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods 4.2%
See more majors
  • Applied Mathematics 3.4%
  • Civil Engineering 3.1%

Highest Earning Programs

Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.

Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)

  • 1. Computer Science $136,265
  • 2. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing $103,904
  • 3. Electrical, Electronics and Communications Engineering $97,191
Show additional high-earning majors
  • 4. Finance and Financial Management Services $95,949
  • 5. Mechanical Engineering $91,884
  • 6. Civil Engineering $86,439
  • 7. Mathematics $86,380
  • 8. Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods $81,158
  • 9. Accounting and Related Services $77,699
  • 10. Area Studies $72,228

Graduate Programs (Master's, Doctoral, Professional)

  • 1. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing (Doctoral Degree) $123,134
  • 2. Business Administration, Management and Operations (Master's Degree) $111,695
  • 3. Education, General (Master's Degree) $57,501

Program Choice Matters: Undergraduate: Computer Science grads earn $136,265—89% more than Area Studies ($72,228). Graduate: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing programs lead with $123,134 median earnings. Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.

Online Degrees & Distance Learning

U.S. Department of Education data reports fully online programs for University of Portland. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education

Most Popular Online Degrees

  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (Bachelor's Degree, 250 graduates)
  • Biology, General (Bachelor's Degree, 101 graduates)
  • Education, General (Master's Degree, 84 graduates)
  • Psychology, General (Bachelor's Degree, 70 graduates)
  • Marketing (Bachelor's Degree, 52 graduates)

What This School Offers Online, at a Glance

U.S. Department of Education data flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.

Online Bachelor's Degrees (35 programs)▼
  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing
  • Biology, General
  • Psychology, General
  • Marketing
  • Computer Science
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods
  • Natural Resources Conservation and Research
  • Finance and Financial Management Services
  • Sociology
  • Civil Engineering
  • Political Science and Government
  • Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication
  • Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods
  • Chemistry
  • Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
  • Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General
  • English Language and Literature, General
  • Accounting and Related Services
  • Philosophy
  • History
  • Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering
  • Economics
  • Communication and Media Studies
  • Mathematics
  • Area Studies
  • Social Work
  • Music
  • Theological and Ministerial Studies
  • Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft
  • Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
  • Physics
  • Engineering-Related Fields
  • Applied Mathematics
  • Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology
Online Master's Degrees (8 programs)▼
  • Education, General
  • Business Administration, Management and Operations
  • Educational Administration and Supervision
  • Finance and Financial Management Services
  • Biomedical/Medical Engineering
  • Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods
  • Engineering, General
  • Communication and Media Studies
Online Graduate/Professional Certificates (5 programs)▼
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas
  • Special Education and Teaching
  • Educational Administration and Supervision
  • Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language
  • Education, General
Online First Professional Degrees (2 programs)▼
  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing
  • Educational Administration and Supervision

Student Demographics

Student Population

  • Total Undergraduate Enrollment 2,957
  • Full-Time Students 98.6%
  • Part-Time Students 1.4%
  • Male Students 35.0%
  • Female Students 65.0%
  • Caucasian 37.9%
  • Asian 21.9%
  • Hispanic 21.3%
  • Black 3.0%
  • Pell Grant Recipients 30.9%

Racial & Ethnic Diversity

Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects University of Portland's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.

Gender Distribution

Gender breakdown of University of Portland's undergraduate population. The university maintains a roughly balanced gender distribution across its student body.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does University of Portland support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
70.8%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
81.9%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
11.1 pts
equity gap to monitor

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a different rate as higher-income students, indicating varying levels of institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at University of Portland, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

EDsmart Insight: University of Portland has a diverse student body, with 37.9% identifying as White. Women make up 65.0% of undergraduates.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does University of Portland support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
70.8%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
81.9%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
11.1 pts
equity gap to monitor

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a different rate as higher-income students, indicating varying levels of institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at University of Portland, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

Our Take

University of Portland offers a private university experience at a regional scale, combining smaller class sizes with 0.0% ROI. Ranked #110 overall, the institution balances personalized attention against higher costs than public alternatives.

The $28,803 annual net price is significantly higher than public universities, offset somewhat by $83,202 median earnings. With 80.5% graduating within 150% of normal time and 88.3% returning for sophomore year, outcomes reflect the personalized support typical of smaller private institutions.

Private University Value: University of Portland's Positioning

With an A grade and #110 ranking, University of Portland competes in the crowded regional private university market.

The Private University Premium: At $28,803 annually, University of Portland charges more than public alternatives but typically offers smaller classes, more personalized advising, and tighter-knit campus communities. The 88.3% retention rate suggests students value this environment.

Who Benefits Most: Students who thrive in smaller, more intimate academic settings. Those seeking specific programs or values-based education aligned with the institution's mission. Students who receive merit scholarships that bring costs below $20,162 achieve particularly strong value.

Cost-Benefit Reality: The 0.0% ROI and $83,202 median earnings don't always justify the premium over public universities. Students paying full price should compare whether the personalized experience warrants $18,803+ in additional annual costs over state flagships.

Competitive Standing: University of Portland ranks #110 of 1934 institutions, with 0 schools achieving higher ROI. For students offered substantial merit aid or seeking specific programs unavailable at public universities, the value proposition strengthens significantly.

Key Takeaways

  • 80.5% graduation rate sits 18.0 points above the national 62.5% benchmark.
  • 88.3% first-year retention is 11.5 points above the national norm of 76.8%.
  • Median earnings of $83,202 run about 35% higher than national outcomes five years after graduation.
  • Average net price of $28,803 is roughly $8,896 higher than the national median of $19,908.
  • 95.7% employment rate within three years is 27.5 points above the national 68.2%.

Helpfulness for Students

Green Flags
  • 9:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
  • 88.3% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
  • 95.7% employment rate within three years sits 27.5 points above national outcomes.
Red Flags
  • Average net price of $28,803 is about $8,896 higher than comparable schools, so scholarship planning is key.
  • Pell participation at 30.9% trails the national share by 7.7 points, so equity work remains important.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis

Located in Portland, OR, University of Portland operates as a private nonprofit university and receives an A from EDsmart. It is currently ranked #110 overall Category results include Completion (A), Support (A-), Career Outcomes (A), and Affordability (C).

Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2026 methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.

About 88.3% of first-year students return; 80.5% graduate within 150% of normal time, with an 8-year award rate of 80.2%. Review the cost and aid tables for a full picture of value.

Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.

EDsmart Financial Snapshot

Families pay about $28,803 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $76,816.

Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $48,013 per year.

Graduates leave with a median of $20,500 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.

About 30.9% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.

Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.

EDsmart Career Snapshot

Five years after graduation, alumni earn roughly $83,202 at the median. Compared with the national median, that's 35% higher.

Employment outcomes report about 95.7% of alumni working within three years.

Use the ROI table above to estimate how long it may take to recoup your degree costs.

Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.

EDsmart Admissions Snapshot

89.2% of applicants receive offers, so preparation and fit matter.

The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.

Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the University of Portland admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.

Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.

EDsmart Verdict
4.72 / 5
Value Rating - Based on affordability and career outcomes

Your Decision Toolkit

Run the Net Price Calculator
Get your personalized cost estimate
Compare with similar schools
See how University of Portland stacks up to alternatives
Check your major's earnings
See ROI for your specific field of study
Visit the campus
Schedule a campus tour or virtual visit
Visit University of Portland Website →

Cite this profile

Add your access date when you publish.

APA (7th): EDsmart. (2026). University of Portland: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings. https://www.edsmart.org/schools/university-of-portland/

MLA (9th): “University of Portland: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” EDsmart, 2026, www.edsmart.org/schools/university-of-portland/.

Chicago: EDsmart. “University of Portland: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” https://www.edsmart.org/schools/university-of-portland/.

Similar Schools

Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes

Nearby Schools

Other campuses you might consider

Other Oregon campuses you might consider

Linfield University
McMinnville, OR
A- #219 of 1,934
Oregon State University
Corvallis, OR
B+ #502 of 1,934
Oregon State University-Cascades Campus
Bend, OR
B+ #589 of 1,934
University of Oregon
Eugene, OR
B #748 of 1,934

Frequently Asked Questions

What is University of Portland's acceptance rate?

University of Portland's acceptance rate is 89.2%, based on U.S. Department of Education admissions data.

How much does University of Portland cost?

At University of Portland, listed tuition and fees are $60,100 per year, and the average net price after aid is $28,803. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.

What is University of Portland's ranking?

University of Portland ranks #110 overall in EDsmart's 2026 college rankings with an overall grade of A, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.

What is University of Portland's graduation rate?

At University of Portland, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 80.5% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), the federal 8-year award rate is 80.2%, and first-year retention is 88.3%.

What are University of Portland's job outcomes?

Graduates of University of Portland report median earnings of $83,202 five years after graduation, according to U.S. Department of Education outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.

What is University of Portland's student population?

University of Portland enrolls about 2,957 undergraduate students, per U.S. Department of Education enrollment data.

Contact Information

  • AccreditationNorthwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU)
  • Endowment$300.9M
  • Transfer Enrollment Rate8.7%

Data Source & Methodology ▼