University of San Francisco Logo

University of San Francisco

San Francisco, CA | Private Nonprofit | University

University of San Francisco has an acceptance rate of 61.7%, an average net price of $30,496, and an overall rank of #404 (Grade B+). About 66.2% of students graduate within 150% of normal time, and median earnings are $87,218 five years after graduation. Data from the U.S. Department of Education and EDsmart's 2026 rankings.

University of San Francisco is a private nonprofit university in San Francisco, CA. Students most often pursue Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing and Computer Science.

Day to day, students benefit from a 11:1 student-faculty ratio, and 83.7% first-year retention. Coaches and faculty advisors weave in frequent check-ins, helping students translate ambition into steady progress.

EDsmart calculates return on investment at 67.1%, roughly 17.2 points higher than typical outcomes. It's well-suited to students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore.

B+
Ranking
#404 of 1,934
How We Rank Schools Higher pay after college
At a Glance
Ranking
#404 of 1,934 (Top 20.9%)
Tuition
$62,462
Net Price
$30,496
4-Year Tuition
$249,848
Acceptance Rate
61.7%
Transfer Rate
20.7%
Student Population
5,287
Student-Faculty
11:1
Grad Rate (150% time)
66.2%
Grad Rate (8-year)
74.6%
Retention Rate
83.7%
4-Yr Earnings
$87,218
ROI
Not reported

Who is University of San Francisco Best For?

A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.

Students who thrive with close mentoring
Students aiming for strong salaries
Students seeking strong career outcomes
Students valuing supportive learning environments

EDsmart Scores Summary

Overall Ranking
#404 of 1,934
Top 20.9% of all institutions
EDsmart Score
79.2 / 100 (national index)
Curved score (top institution = 100.0)
Value Rating
3.96 / 5
Based on ROI and outcomes
Completion
B+
#437 of 1,934
Affordability
C
#1,650 of 1,934
Support
B+
#420 of 1,934
Career Outcomes
A-
#202 of 1,934

University of San Francisco graduates 66.2% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 74.6% and keeps 83.7% of first-year students. Affordability earns a C compared with similar schools.

How we calculate this →

Cost & Financial Aid

Quick Answers

What does it cost?
Depends on income
$23,963-$38,553 annual net price based on family income.
What's the graduation rate?
Likely
66.2% graduate within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings). The federal 8-year award rate is 74.6%. 57.5% complete in four years (IPEDS 100% time).
What are job outcomes?
Highly likely
92.3% of alumni are employed within three years of leaving. Median earnings five years after graduation are $87,218. Pay varies by major.
Get Your Personalized Cost Estimate

The costs shown are averages. Use University of San Francisco's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.

Calculate Your Net Price →

Total Degree Cost Summary

4-Year Total Cost (Pay with Cash)
$327,340
$81,835 × 4 years
Average Total Cost (Pay with Financial Aid)
$130,051
$30,496 × 4.3 years average
Time to Degree
Average: 4.3 years | 4-Year Rate: 57.5% | 6-Year Rate: 66.2% | 8-Year Rate: 74.6%
Most students finish in about four to five years. Four-year completion is 57.5% and six-year completion is 66.2%.

Annual Cost Comparison

Pay with Cash
$81,835
Total annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses; excluding any financial aid, grants or scholarships.
Pay with Financial Aid
$30,496
Average annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses after financial aid, grants or scholarships.

Est. annual aid gap: $51,339 Cash cost of attendance minus average net price after aid.

Cost of Undergraduate Attendance

Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.

View cost of attendance line items
Costs to Consider Price
Tuition and Fees $62,462
Books and Supplies $1,089
On-Campus Room and Board $18,540
On-Campus Other Expenses $4,445
Total On-Campus Cost $81,835

Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.

Students Receiving Aid

Pell Grant
32.6%
Federal Loan
51.3%

Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.

EDsmart Insight: About 32.6% of University of San Francisco students receive Pell Grants — slightly below the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.

Net Price by Family Income

Average annual net price after financial aid, based on family income. Your actual cost may vary depending on your specific financial situation.

$0 - $30,000
$23,963
Average annual cost for families earning $0-$30K
$30,001 - $48,000
$26,079
Average annual cost for families earning $30K-$48K
$48,001 - $75,000
$25,957
Average annual cost for families earning $48K-$75K
$75,001 - $110,000
$27,201
Average annual cost for families earning $75K-$110K
$110,001+
$38,553
Average annual cost for families earning $110K+

Understanding These Numbers: Net price varies significantly by income level. Net prices range from $23,963 to $38,553 depending on family income. Use University of San Francisco's net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Typical total cost estimates (~4.3 years):
$0-$30K families
~$102,191
$30K-$48K families
~$111,215
$48K-$75K families
~$110,694
$75K-$110K families
~$116,000
AFFORDABILITY ALERT

If your family earns $75K-$110K: Expect to pay around $27,201/year

If your family earns $110K+: Expect to pay around $38,553/year

See all income brackets →

ROI & Career Outcomes

Return on Investment
Not reported
Based on median earnings five years after graduation vs. total degree cost
  • Median Earnings (5 Years After Graduation) $87,218
  • 10-Year Median Earnings $94,613
  • Average Years to Graduate 4.3 years
  • Average Student Debt $22,956
  • Debt-to-Earnings ~26.3%
  • Repayment Rate (3yr) 73.2%
  • Employment Rate 92.3%

Graduate Earnings Distribution

Earnings range for University of San Francisco graduates about 10 years after enrollment (25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile). Different horizon than median earnings five years after graduation above.

Graduates earn a median of $87,218 five years after graduation — roughly 42% above the national median.
Payback Period
1.49 years
Total Degree Cost ÷ Annual Earnings

University of San Francisco vs. National Average

Comparison of key performance metrics showing how University of San Francisco's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes University of San Francisco's performance within the broader higher education landscape.

Acceptance & Selectivity

Getting In

Acceptance Rate
61.7%
Less Selective
National Average
69%
Average acceptance rate
  • SAT Evidence-Based Reading 610-700
  • SAT Math 580-690
  • SAT Writing Not reported
  • ACT Composite 25-30
  • SAT & ACT Required
  • Undergraduate Enrollment 5,287
  • Full-Time Students 96.7%
  • Part-Time Students 3.4%
  • Retention Rate 83.7%
  • Grad Rate (150% time) 66.2%
  • Grad Rate (8-year) 74.6%
  • Student-Faculty Ratio 11:1

How to Get Into University of San Francisco

1. Meet Academic Requirements: University of San Francisco requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.

2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.

3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of 61.7%, University of San Francisco is relatively open. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.

4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.

Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.

EDsmart Insight: With a 61.7% acceptance rate, University of San Francisco is more accessible than highly selective schools. Meeting the test score ranges and maintaining a solid GPA significantly improves admission chances. The middle 50% of admitted students score between 1190 and 1390 on the SAT.

Academic Programs

Undergraduate Program Distribution

Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among University of San Francisco undergraduates. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing, Business Administration, Management and Operations, and Psychology, General draw the most students.

  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing 14.8%
  • Business Administration, Management and Operations 7.8%
  • Psychology, General 7.6%
  • Finance and Financial Management Services 6.3%
  • Marketing 5.8%
  • Communication and Media Studies 5.5%
See more majors
  • Biology, General 4.5%
  • Computer Science 3.8%

Highest Earning Programs

Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.

Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)

  • 1. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing $149,741
  • 2. Computer Science $149,331
  • 3. Finance and Financial Management Services $107,184
Show additional high-earning majors
  • 4. Business Administration, Management and Operations $104,526
  • 5. Accounting and Related Services $101,040
  • 6. International Business $92,956
  • 7. Marketing $91,873
  • 8. Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication $89,358
  • 9. Economics $87,378
  • 10. Architecture $76,078

Graduate Programs (Master's, Doctoral, Professional)

  • 1. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing (Doctoral Degree) $200,485
  • 2. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing (Master's Degree) $158,515
  • 3. Human Resources Management and Services (Master's Degree) $157,232
Show additional graduate majors
  • 4. Business Administration, Management and Operations (Master's Degree) $150,673
  • 5. Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods (Master's Degree) $138,031
  • 6. Legal Research and Advanced Professional Studies (Master's Degree) $133,773
  • 7. Computer and Information Sciences, General (Master's Degree) $132,126
  • 8. Public Administration (Master's Degree) $116,575
  • 9. Economics (Master's Degree) $115,251
  • 10. Law (Doctoral Degree) $114,397

Program Choice Matters: Undergraduate: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing grads earn $149,741—97% more than Architecture ($76,078). Graduate: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing programs lead with $200,485 median earnings. Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.

Online Degrees & Distance Learning

U.S. Department of Education data reports fully online programs for University of San Francisco. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education

Most Popular Online Degrees

  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (Bachelor's Degree, 227 graduates)
  • Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology (Master's Degree, 191 graduates)
  • Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods (Master's Degree, 131 graduates)
  • Psychology, General (Bachelor's Degree, 120 graduates)
  • Education, General (Master's Degree, 101 graduates)

What This School Offers Online, at a Glance

U.S. Department of Education data flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.

Online Bachelor's Degrees (44 programs)▼
  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing
  • Psychology, General
  • Finance and Financial Management Services
  • Biology, General
  • Marketing
  • Communication and Media Studies
  • Computer Science
  • Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness
  • International Relations and National Security Studies
  • Political Science and Government
  • Sociology
  • Natural Resources Conservation and Research
  • Entrepreneurial and Small Business Operations
  • Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication
  • Accounting and Related Services
  • English Language and Literature, General
  • Economics
  • Design and Applied Arts
  • Architecture
  • International Business
  • Chemistry
  • Data Processing
  • Data Analytics
  • Fine and Studio Arts
  • Area Studies
  • Hospitality Administration/Management
  • History
  • Mathematics
  • Visual and Performing Arts, General
  • East Asian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
  • Philosophy
  • Human Resources Management and Services
  • Urban Studies/Affairs
  • Physics
  • Theological and Ministerial Studies
  • Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
  • Public Administration
  • Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services
  • Physical Sciences, General
  • Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
  • Engineering, General
  • Public Health
  • Neurobiology and Neurosciences
  • Management Information Systems and Services
Online Master's Degrees (33 programs)▼
  • Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology
  • Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods
  • Education, General
  • Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness
  • Data Processing
  • Business Administration, Management and Operations
  • Educational Administration and Supervision
  • Economics
  • Computer and Information Sciences, General
  • Computer Science
  • Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods
  • Communication and Media Studies
  • Natural Resources Conservation and Research
  • Biotechnology
  • Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language
  • Museology/Museum Studies
  • International/Globalization Studies
  • Energy Systems Technologies/Technicians
  • Urban Studies/Affairs
  • Human Resources Management and Services
  • Human Services, General
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas
  • Medical Illustration and Informatics
  • Demography
  • Special Education and Teaching
  • Educational/Instructional Media Design
  • Area Studies
  • Biology, General
  • Bilingual, Multilingual, and Multicultural Education
  • Chemistry
  • Entrepreneurial and Small Business Operations
  • Fine and Studio Arts
Online Doctoral Degrees (5 programs)▼
  • Bilingual, Multilingual, and Multicultural Education
  • Educational Administration and Supervision
  • Curriculum and Instruction
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods
  • Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology
Online Graduate/Professional Certificates (5 programs)▼
  • Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions
  • Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods
  • Medical Illustration and Informatics
  • Legal Research and Advanced Professional Studies
Online First Professional Degrees (4 programs)▼
  • Law
  • Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions
  • Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology
  • Special Education and Teaching

Student Demographics

Student Population

  • Total Undergraduate Enrollment 5,287
  • Full-Time Students 96.7%
  • Part-Time Students 3.4%
  • Male Students 35.0%
  • Female Students 65.0%
  • Caucasian 22.5%
  • Asian 26.6%
  • Hispanic 22.4%
  • Black 8.1%
  • Pell Grant Recipients 32.6%

Racial & Ethnic Diversity

Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects University of San Francisco's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.

Gender Distribution

Gender breakdown of University of San Francisco's undergraduate population. The university maintains a roughly balanced gender distribution across its student body.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does University of San Francisco support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
61.2%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
67.9%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
6.7 pts
good equity

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a similar rate as higher-income students, indicating adequate institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at University of San Francisco, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

EDsmart Insight: University of San Francisco has a diverse student body, with 22.5% identifying as White. Women make up 65.0% of undergraduates.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does University of San Francisco support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
61.2%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
67.9%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
6.7 pts
good equity

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a similar rate as higher-income students, indicating adequate institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at University of San Francisco, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

Our Take

University of San Francisco offers a private university experience at a regional scale, combining smaller class sizes with 0.0% ROI. Ranked #404 overall, the institution balances personalized attention against higher costs than public alternatives.

The $30,496 annual net price is significantly higher than public universities, offset somewhat by $87,218 median earnings. With 66.2% graduating within 150% of normal time and 83.7% returning for sophomore year, outcomes reflect the personalized support typical of smaller private institutions.

Private University Value: University of San Francisco's Positioning

With a B+ grade and #404 ranking, University of San Francisco competes in the crowded regional private university market.

The Private University Premium: At $30,496 annually, University of San Francisco charges more than public alternatives but typically offers smaller classes, more personalized advising, and tighter-knit campus communities. The 83.7% retention rate suggests students value this environment.

Who Benefits Most: Students who thrive in smaller, more intimate academic settings. Those seeking specific programs or values-based education aligned with the institution's mission. Students who receive merit scholarships that bring costs below $21,347 achieve particularly strong value.

Cost-Benefit Reality: The 0.0% ROI and $87,218 median earnings don't always justify the premium over public universities. Students paying full price should compare whether the personalized experience warrants $20,496+ in additional annual costs over state flagships.

Competitive Standing: University of San Francisco ranks #404 of 1934 institutions, with 0 schools achieving higher ROI. For students offered substantial merit aid or seeking specific programs unavailable at public universities, the value proposition strengthens significantly.

Key Takeaways

  • 66.2% graduation rate sits 3.7 points above the national 62.5% benchmark.
  • 83.7% first-year retention is 6.9 points above the national norm of 76.8%.
  • Median earnings of $87,218 run about 42% higher than national outcomes five years after graduation.
  • Average net price of $30,496 is roughly $10,588 higher than the national median of $19,908.
  • 92.3% employment rate within three years is 24.1 points above the national 68.2%.

Helpfulness for Students

Green Flags
  • 11:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
  • 83.7% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
  • 92.3% employment rate within three years sits 24.1 points above national outcomes.
Red Flags
  • Average net price of $30,496 is about $10,588 higher than comparable schools, so scholarship planning is key.
  • Pell participation at 32.6% trails the national share by 6.1 points, so equity work remains important.
  • 51.3% of students borrow federal loans, outpacing typical campuses and raising repayment stakes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis

EDsmart rates University of San Francisco—a private nonprofit university in San Francisco, CA—at B+ overall. It appears at #404 in EDsmart's rankings Completion earns B+, Support B+, Career Outcomes A-, and Affordability C.

Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2026 methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.

About 83.7% of first-year students return; 66.2% graduate within 150% of normal time, with an 8-year award rate of 74.6%. Review the cost and aid tables for a full picture of value.

Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.

EDsmart Financial Snapshot

Families pay about $30,496 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $81,835.

Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $51,339 per year.

Graduates leave with a median of $22,956 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.

About 32.6% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.

Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.

EDsmart Career Snapshot

Five years after graduation, alumni earn roughly $87,218 at the median. This is roughly 42% above typical U.S. college outcomes.

Roughly 92.3% of graduates are employed three years out.

Use the ROI table above to estimate how long it may take to recoup your degree costs.

Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.

EDsmart Admissions Snapshot

61.7% of applicants receive offers, so preparation and fit matter.

The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.

Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the University of San Francisco admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.

Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.

EDsmart Verdict
3.96 / 5
Value Rating - Based on affordability and career outcomes

Your Decision Toolkit

Run the Net Price Calculator
Get your personalized cost estimate
Compare with similar schools
See how University of San Francisco stacks up to alternatives
Check your major's earnings
See ROI for your specific field of study
Visit the campus
Schedule a campus tour or virtual visit
Visit University of San Francisco Website →

Cite this profile

Add your access date when you publish.

APA (7th): EDsmart. (2026). University of San Francisco: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings. https://www.edsmart.org/schools/university-of-san-francisco/

MLA (9th): “University of San Francisco: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” EDsmart, 2026, www.edsmart.org/schools/university-of-san-francisco/.

Chicago: EDsmart. “University of San Francisco: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” https://www.edsmart.org/schools/university-of-san-francisco/.

Similar Schools

Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes

Nearby Schools

Other campuses you might consider

Other California campuses you might consider

Southern California Institute of Architecture
Los Angeles, CA
B+ #400 of 1,934
University of Redlands
Redlands, CA
B+ #428 of 1,934
Saint Mary's College of California
Moraga, CA
B+ #379 of 1,934
Pitzer College
Claremont, CA
B+ #430 of 1,934

Frequently Asked Questions

What is University of San Francisco's acceptance rate?

University of San Francisco's acceptance rate is 61.7%, based on U.S. Department of Education admissions data.

How much does University of San Francisco cost?

At University of San Francisco, listed tuition and fees are $62,462 per year, and the average net price after aid is $30,496. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.

What is University of San Francisco's ranking?

University of San Francisco ranks #404 overall in EDsmart's 2026 college rankings with an overall grade of B+, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.

What is University of San Francisco's graduation rate?

At University of San Francisco, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 66.2% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), the federal 8-year award rate is 74.6%, and first-year retention is 83.7%.

What are University of San Francisco's job outcomes?

Graduates of University of San Francisco report median earnings of $87,218 five years after graduation, according to U.S. Department of Education outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.

What is University of San Francisco's student population?

University of San Francisco enrolls about 5,287 undergraduate students, per U.S. Department of Education enrollment data.

Contact Information

  • AccreditationWestern Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission (WASCSR)
  • Endowment$509.6M
  • Transfer Enrollment Rate20.7%

Data Source & Methodology ▼