University of the Cumberlands
University of the Cumberlands has an acceptance rate of 98.8%, annual tuition of $9,875, average net price of $14,107, and a national rank of #1001 (Grade B), with a 50.4% graduation rate within 150% of normal time, about 6,941 undergraduates, and median earnings of $51,882 four years after graduation. Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and EDsmart's 2026 rankings.
University of the Cumberlands is a private nonprofit university in Williamsburg, KY. Students most often pursue Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing and Biology.
Inside the classroom, students benefit from a 23:1 student-faculty ratio, and 74.3% first-year retention. Faculty pair challenging syllabi with intentional mentoring so learners keep momentum even as expectations rise.
EDsmart calculates return on investment at 83.4%, roughly 33.5 points higher than typical outcomes. Expect the strongest outcomes for students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore.
Who is University of the Cumberlands Best For?
A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.
EDsmart Scores Summary
University of the Cumberlands graduates 50.4% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 47.3% and keeps 74.3% of first-year students. Affordability earns an A- compared with similar schools.
How we calculate this →Cost & Financial Aid
Quick Answers
The costs shown are averages. Use University of the Cumberlands's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.
Calculate Your Net Price →Total Degree Cost Summary
Annual Cost Comparison
Cost of Undergraduate Attendance
Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.
View cost of attendance line items
| Costs to Consider | Price |
|---|---|
| Tuition and Fees | $9,875 |
| Books and Supplies | $0 |
| On-Campus Room and Board | $9,300 |
| On-Campus Other Expenses | $7,197 |
| Total On-Campus Cost | $25,567 |
Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.
Students Receiving Aid
Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.
EDsmart Insight: About 53.4% of University of the Cumberlands students receive Pell Grants — well above the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.
Net Price by Family Income
Average annual net price after financial aid, based on family income. Your actual cost may vary depending on your specific financial situation.
Understanding These Numbers: Net price varies significantly by income level. Net prices range from $10,736 to $18,846 depending on family income. Use University of the Cumberlands's net price calculator for a personalized estimate.
If your family earns $75K-$110K: Expect to pay around $16,441/year
If your family earns $110K+: Expect to pay around $18,846/year
See all income brackets →ROI & Career Outcomes
- Median Earnings (4 Years After Graduation) $51,882
- 10-Year Median Earnings $45,036
- Average Years to Graduate 4.4 years
- Average Student Debt $14,911
- Repayment Rate (3yr) 52.6%
- Employment Rate 91.6%
Graduate Earnings Distribution
Earnings range for University of the Cumberlands graduates 6 years after enrollment, showing the 25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile. This illustrates the variation in outcomes across different majors and career paths.
University of the Cumberlands vs. National Average
Comparison of key performance metrics showing how University of the Cumberlands's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes University of the Cumberlands's performance within the broader higher education landscape.
EDsmart Insight: University of the Cumberlands graduates earn $51,882 median four years after graduation, -14% above the national average. Earnings vary significantly by major—research your field's outcomes.
Acceptance & Selectivity
Getting In
- SAT Evidence-Based Reading Not reported
- SAT Math Not reported
- SAT Writing Not reported
- ACT Composite Not reported
- SAT & ACTNot required
- Undergraduate Enrollment 6,941
- Full-Time Students 83.7%
- Part-Time Students 16.3%
- Retention Rate 74.3%
- Grad Rate (150% time) 50.4%
- Grad Rate (8-year) 47.3%
- Student-Faculty Ratio 23:1
How to Get Into University of the Cumberlands
1. Meet Academic Requirements: University of the Cumberlands requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.
2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.
3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of 98.8%, University of the Cumberlands is relatively open. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.
4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.
Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.
EDsmart Insight: With a 98.8% acceptance rate, University of the Cumberlands is more accessible than highly selective schools. Meeting the test score ranges and maintaining a solid GPA significantly improves admission chances.
Academic Programs
Undergraduate Program Distribution
Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among University of the Cumberlands undergraduates. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing, Business/Commerce, General, and Human Services, General draw the most students.
- Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing 13.8%
- Business/Commerce, General 13.8%
- Human Services, General 10.5%
- Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods 8.9%
- Psychology, General 8.9%
- Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitnes 7.1%
See more majors
- Biology, General 6.0%
- Criminal Justice and Corrections 5.7%
Highest Earning Programs
Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.
Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)
- 1. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing $81,012
- 2. Biology, General $63,243
- 3. Business/Commerce, General $60,400
Show additional high-earning majors
- 4. Accounting and Related Services $50,102
- 5. Criminal Justice and Corrections $44,221
- 6. Psychology, General $42,393
- 7. Computer and Information Sciences, General $40,725
- 8. Human Services, General $38,951
- 9. Health and Physical Education/Fitness $37,610
- 10. Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods $35,470
Graduate Programs (Master's, Doctoral, Professional)
- 1. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing (Master's Degree) $97,899
- 2. Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (Master's Degree) $90,820
- 3. Business Administration, Management and Operations (Doctoral Degree) $78,503
Show additional graduate majors
- 4. Educational Administration and Supervision (Doctoral Degree) $74,217
- 5. Business Administration, Management and Operations (Master's Degree) $71,086
- 6. Educational Administration and Supervision (Master's Degree) $67,247
- 7. Student Counseling and Personnel Services (Master's Degree) $55,999
- 8. Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology (Master's Degree) $51,541
- 9. Curriculum and Instruction (Master's Degree) $50,801
- 10. Criminal Justice and Corrections (Master's Degree) $50,379
Program Choice Matters: Undergraduate: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing grads earn $81,012—128% more than Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods ($35,470). Graduate: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing programs lead with $97,899 median earnings. Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.
Online Degrees & Distance Learning
College Scorecard reports fully online programs for University of the Cumberlands. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education – College Scorecard
Most Popular Online Degrees
- Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (Bachelor's Degree, 55 graduates)
- Political Science and Government (Bachelor's Degree, 6 graduates)
- History (Bachelor's Degree, 6 graduates)
- Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft (Bachelor's Degree, 4 graduates)
- Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas (Bachelor's Degree, 3 graduates)
What This School Offers Online, at a Glance
College Scorecard flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.
Online Bachelor's Degrees (15 programs)▼
- Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods
- Political Science and Government
- History
- Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft
- Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas
- Mathematics
- Engineering, Other
- Music
- Fine and Studio Arts
- Chemistry
- Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
- Special Education and Teaching
- Physics
- Management Information Systems and Services
- English Language and Literature, General
Student Demographics
Student Population
- Total Undergraduate Enrollment 6,941
- Full-Time Students 83.7%
- Part-Time Students 16.3%
- Male Students 31.9%
- Female Students 68.1%
- Caucasian 81.2%
- Asian 0.7%
- Hispanic 3.3%
- Black 5.4%
- Pell Grant Recipients 53.4%
Racial & Ethnic Diversity
Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects University of the Cumberlands's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.
Gender Distribution
Gender breakdown of University of the Cumberlands's undergraduate population. The university maintains a roughly balanced gender distribution across its student body.
Graduation Rate Equity Analysis
How well does University of the Cumberlands support students from different economic backgrounds?
What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a different rate as higher-income students, indicating varying levels of institutional support for all economic backgrounds.
Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity
Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity
Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at University of the Cumberlands, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.
EDsmart Insight: The student body is 81.2% White, reflecting less racial diversity than the national average. Women make up 68.1% of undergraduates. 53.4% of students receive Pell Grants, well above the national average, indicating strong support for low-income students.
Graduation Rate Equity Analysis
How well does University of the Cumberlands support students from different economic backgrounds?
What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a different rate as higher-income students, indicating varying levels of institutional support for all economic backgrounds.
Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity
Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity
Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at University of the Cumberlands, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.
Our Take
University of the Cumberlands offers a private university experience at a regional scale, combining smaller class sizes with 83.4% ROI. Ranked #1001 nationally, the institution balances personalized attention against higher costs than public alternatives.
The $14,107 annual net price is competitive with public out-of-state tuition, offset somewhat by $51,882 median earnings. With 50.4% graduating within 150% of normal time and 74.3% returning for sophomore year, outcomes reflect the personalized support typical of smaller private institutions.
Private University Value: University of the Cumberlands's Positioning
With a B grade and #1001 ranking, University of the Cumberlands competes in the crowded regional private university market.
The Private University Premium: At $14,107 annually, University of the Cumberlands charges more than public alternatives but typically offers smaller classes, more personalized advising, and tighter-knit campus communities. The 74.3% retention rate suggests students value this environment.
Who Benefits Most: Students who thrive in smaller, more intimate academic settings. Those seeking specific programs or values-based education aligned with the institution's mission. Students who receive merit scholarships that bring costs below $9,875 achieve particularly strong value.
Cost-Benefit Reality: The 83.4% ROI and $51,882 median earnings don't always justify the premium over public universities. Students paying full price should compare whether the personalized experience warrants $4,107+ in additional annual costs over state flagships.
Competitive Standing: University of the Cumberlands ranks #1001 of 1947 institutions, with 506 schools achieving higher ROI. For students offered substantial merit aid or seeking specific programs unavailable at public universities, the value proposition strengthens significantly.
Key Takeaways
- 50.4% graduation rate sits 12.1 points below the national 62.5% benchmark.
- 74.3% first-year retention is 2.5 points below the national norm of 76.8%.
- 83.4% return on investment is 33.5 points above the national 49.9% benchmark.
- Median earnings of $51,882 run about 14% lower than national outcomes four years after graduation.
- Average net price of $14,107 is roughly $5,972 lower than the national median of $20,079.
Helpfulness for Students
- 23:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
- 74.3% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
- 91.6% employment rate within three years sits 23.4 points above national outcomes.
- Budget carefully for clinical travel, off-campus housing, and practicum fees to avoid surprise costs.
- Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
- Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis
EDsmart rates University of the Cumberlands—a private nonprofit university in Williamsburg, KY—at B overall. It stands at #1001 among 1962 schools Completion earns B-, Support C, Career Outcomes B, and Affordability A-.
Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2026 methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.
About 74.3% of first-year students return; 50.4% graduate within 150% of normal time, with an 8-year award rate of 47.3%. EDsmart calculates the ROI at 83.4%, offering a quick value checkpoint.
Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.
EDsmart Financial Snapshot
Families pay about $14,107 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $25,567.
Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $11,460 per year.
Graduates leave with a median of $14,911 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.
About 53.4% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.
Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.
EDsmart Career Snapshot
Median earnings come in near $51,882 four years after graduation. Compared with the national median, that's 14% lower.
The three-year employment rate is close to 91.6%.
Plan around an ROI of about 83.4% according to the Scorecard data.
Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.
EDsmart Admissions Snapshot
98.8% of applicants receive offers, so preparation and fit matter.
The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.
Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the University of the Cumberlands admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.
Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.
Your Decision Toolkit
Similar Schools
Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes
Nearby Schools
Other campuses you might consider
Other Kentucky campuses you might consider
Frequently Asked Questions
What is University of the Cumberlands's acceptance rate?
University of the Cumberlands's acceptance rate is 98.8%, based on U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard admissions data.
How much does University of the Cumberlands cost?
At University of the Cumberlands, listed tuition and fees are $9,875 per year, and the average net price after aid is $14,107. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.
What is University of the Cumberlands's ranking?
University of the Cumberlands ranks #1001 nationally in EDsmart's 2026 college rankings with an overall grade of B, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.
What is University of the Cumberlands's graduation rate?
At University of the Cumberlands, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 50.4% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), College Scorecard 8-year award rate is 47.3%, and first-year retention is 74.3%.
What are University of the Cumberlands's job outcomes?
Graduates of University of the Cumberlands report median earnings of $51,882 four years after graduation, according to College Scorecard federal outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.
What is University of the Cumberlands's student population?
University of the Cumberlands enrolls about 6,941 undergraduate students, per College Scorecard enrollment data.
Contact Information
- Address Williamsburg, KY 40769
- Website www.ucumberlands.edu
- Net Price Calculator Calculate Your Cost
- Financial AidView Financial Aid Information
- AccreditationSouthern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCC)
- Endowment$222.4M
- Transfer Enrollment Rate20.6%