University of the People Logo

University of the People

Pasadena, CA | Private Nonprofit | University

University of the People has annual tuition of $1,400, and an overall rank of #1742 (Grade C). About 36.3% of students graduate within 150% of normal time. Data from the U.S. Department of Education and EDsmart's 2027 rankings.

University of the People is a private nonprofit university in Pasadena, CA. Students most often pursue business leadership.

Inside the classroom, students benefit from a 28:1 student-faculty ratio. Faculty pair challenging syllabi with intentional mentoring so learners keep momentum even as expectations rise.

Expect the strongest outcomes for students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore.

C
Ranking
#1742 of 1,955
How We Rank Schools Large campus life
At a Glance
Ranking
#1742 of 1,955 (Top 89.1%)
Tuition
$1,400
Net Price
Not reported
4-Year Tuition
$5,600
Acceptance Rate
Not reported
Transfer Rate
1.1%
Student Population
22,688
Student-Faculty
28:1
Grad Rate (150% time)
36.3%
Retention Rate
Not reported
5-Yr Earnings
Not reported
ROI
Not reported

Who is University of the People Best For?

A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.

Families tracking affordability closely
Explorers drawn to vibrant campus scale
Students valuing supportive learning environments

EDsmart Scores Summary

Overall Ranking
#1742 of 1,955
Top 89.1% of all institutions
EDsmart Score
10.9 / 100 (national index)
Curved score (top institution = 100.0)
Value Rating
0.55 / 5
Based on ROI and outcomes
Completion
C+
#1,403 of 1,955
Affordability
C
#1,676 of 1,955
Support
C
#1,798 of 1,955
Career Outcomes
B
#936 of 1,955

University of the People graduates 36.3% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings) and does not report first-year retention. Affordability earns a C compared with similar schools.

How we calculate this →

Cost & Financial Aid

Quick Answers

What does it cost?
Depends on income
$0 average net price after aid.
What's the graduation rate?
Somewhat likely
36.3% graduate within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings). 22.5% complete in four years (IPEDS 100% time).
What are job outcomes?
Employment outlook unavailable
Employment rate data is not reported. Pay varies by major.
Get Your Personalized Cost Estimate

The costs shown are averages. Use University of the People's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.

Calculate Your Net Price →

Total Degree Cost Summary

4-Year Total Cost (Pay with Cash)
N/A
Not reported
Average Total Cost (Pay with Financial Aid)
N/A
Not reported Ă— 4.5 years average
Time to Degree
Average: 4.8 years | 4-Year Rate: 22.5% | 6-Year Rate: 36.3%
Most students finish in about four to five years. Four-year completion is 22.5% and six-year completion is 36.3%.

Annual Cost Comparison

Pay with Cash
Not reported
Total annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses; excluding any financial aid, grants or scholarships.
Pay with Financial Aid
Not reported
Average annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses after financial aid, grants or scholarships.

Est. annual aid gap: Not reported Cash cost of attendance minus average net price after aid.

Cost of Undergraduate Attendance

Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.

View cost of attendance line items
Costs to Consider Price
Tuition and Fees $1,400
Books and Supplies Not reported
On-Campus Room and Board Not reported
On-Campus Other Expenses Not reported
Total On-Campus Cost Not reported

Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.

Students Receiving Aid

Pell Grant
0.0%
Federal Loan
Not reported

Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.

EDsmart Insight: Only 0.0% of University of the People students receive Pell Grants — far below the national average, underscoring equity challenges.

ROI & Career Outcomes

Return on Investment
Not reported
Based on median earnings five years after graduation vs. total degree cost
  • Median Earnings (5 Years After Graduation) Not reported
  • 10-Year Median Earnings Not reported
  • Average Years to Graduate 4.8 years
  • Average Student Debt Not reported
  • Debt-to-Earnings Not reported
  • Repayment Rate (3yr) Not reported
  • Employment Rate Not reported

Graduate Earnings Distribution

Earnings range for University of the People graduates about 10 years after enrollment (25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile). Different horizon than median earnings five years after graduation above.

Graduates earn a median of Not reported five years after graduation — roughly 195% above the national median.
Payback Period
Not reported
Total Degree Cost Ă· Annual Earnings

University of the People vs. National Average

Comparison of key performance metrics showing how University of the People's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes University of the People's performance within the broader higher education landscape.

Acceptance & Selectivity

Getting In

Acceptance Rate
Not reported
Extremely Selective
National Average
69%
Average acceptance rate
  • SAT Evidence-Based Reading Not reported
  • SAT Math Not reported
  • SAT Writing Not reported
  • ACT Composite Not reported
  • SAT & ACTNot required
  • Undergraduate Enrollment 22,688
  • Full-Time Students 65.5%
  • Part-Time Students 34.5%
  • Retention Rate Not reported
  • Grad Rate (150% time) 36.3%
  • Student-Faculty Ratio 28:1

How to Get Into University of the People

1. Meet Academic Requirements: University of the People requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.

2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.

3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of Not reported, University of the People is selective. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.

4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.

Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.

Academic Programs

Undergraduate Program Distribution

Program data for University of the People is not available. Please contact the school directly for information about their academic programs.

  • U.S. Department of Education data does not include a program mix for University of the People. Check the school's site or admissions office for current offerings. —

Online Degrees & Distance Learning

U.S. Department of Education data does not list any fully online degree programs for University of the People. This institution may offer hybrid or partially online courses, but no fully online degree programs are reported in the latest data release.
Source: U.S. Department of Education

Student Demographics

Student Population

  • Total Undergraduate Enrollment 22,688
  • Full-Time Students 65.5%
  • Part-Time Students 34.5%
  • Male Students 52.6%
  • Female Students 47.4%
  • Caucasian 4.7%
  • Asian 1.6%
  • Hispanic 2.7%
  • Black 2.6%
  • Pell Grant Recipients 0.0%

Racial & Ethnic Diversity

Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects University of the People's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.

Gender Distribution

Gender breakdown of University of the People's undergraduate population. The university maintains a roughly balanced gender distribution across its student body.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at University of the People, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

EDsmart Insight: University of the People has a diverse student body, with 4.7% identifying as White. About 0.0% receive Pell Grants, below the national average of 38%, suggesting a wealthier student body or generous institutional aid.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at University of the People, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

Our Take

University of the People offers a private university experience at a regional scale, combining smaller class sizes with 0.0% ROI. Ranked #1742 overall, the institution balances personalized attention against higher costs than public alternatives.

The $0 annual net price is competitive with public out-of-state tuition, offset somewhat by $0 median earnings. With 36.3% graduating within 150% of normal time and 0.0% returning for sophomore year, outcomes reflect the personalized support typical of smaller private institutions.

Private University Value: University of the People's Positioning

With a C grade and #1742 ranking, University of the People competes in the crowded regional private university market.

The Private University Premium: At $0 annually, University of the People charges more than public alternatives but typically offers smaller classes, more personalized advising, and tighter-knit campus communities. The 0.0% retention rate suggests students value this environment.

Who Benefits Most: Students who thrive in smaller, more intimate academic settings. Those seeking specific programs or values-based education aligned with the institution's mission. Students who receive merit scholarships that bring costs below $0 achieve particularly strong value.

Cost-Benefit Reality: The 0.0% ROI and $0 median earnings don't always justify the premium over public universities. Students paying full price should compare whether the personalized experience warrants $-10,000+ in additional annual costs over state flagships.

Competitive Standing: University of the People ranks #1742 of 1955 institutions, with 0 schools achieving higher ROI. For students offered substantial merit aid or seeking specific programs unavailable at public universities, the value proposition strengthens significantly.

Key Takeaways

  • 36.3% graduation rate sits 26.2 points below the national 62.5% benchmark.
  • 28:1 student-faculty ratio keeps advising personal and discussion-sized.
  • #1742 of 1,955 national placement reflects steady performance among comparable institutions.

Helpfulness for Students

Green Flags
  • 28:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
  • Career coaching and alumni mentoring help learners convert classes into early job offers.
  • Career coaching and alumni mentoring help learners convert classes into early job offers.
Red Flags
  • Budget carefully for clinical travel, off-campus housing, and practicum fees to avoid surprise costs.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis

University of the People, a private nonprofit university in Pasadena, CA, secures a C grade in our latest review. It holds a #1742 overall ranking Category results include Completion (C+), Support (C), Career Outcomes (B), and Affordability (C).

Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2027 rankings methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.

Expect about 36.3% of students to graduate within 150% of normal time. Review the cost and aid tables for a full picture of value.

Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.

EDsmart Financial Snapshot

Review the charts above for a breakdown of tuition, aid, and typical expenses.

Aid awards vary by student profile, so completing the net price calculator is the best next step.

Federal loan data is not available for this institution.

Pell Grant participation data is not reported.

Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.

EDsmart Career Snapshot

Earnings data is not available for this institution.

Employment figures are not reported, so explore departmental job placement stories.

Use the ROI table above to estimate how long it may take to recoup your degree costs.

Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.

EDsmart Admissions Snapshot

This institution has not reported a current acceptance rate.

The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.

Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the University of the People admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.

Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.

EDsmart Verdict
0.55 / 5
Value Rating - Based on affordability and career outcomes

Your Decision Toolkit

Run the Net Price Calculator
Get your personalized cost estimate
Compare with similar schools
See how University of the People stacks up to alternatives
Check your major's earnings
See ROI for your specific field of study
Visit the campus
Schedule a campus tour or virtual visit
Visit University of the People Website →

Cite this profile

Add your access date when you publish.

APA (7th): EDsmart. (2026). University of the People: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings. https://www.edsmart.org/schools/university-of-the-people/

MLA (9th): “University of the People: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” EDsmart, 2026, www.edsmart.org/schools/university-of-the-people/.

Chicago: EDsmart. “University of the People: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” https://www.edsmart.org/schools/university-of-the-people/.

Similar Online Universities

Large online, career-focused peers with flexible adult pathways

Online Alternatives

Other exclusively online universities you might consider

Evangel University-College of Online Learning
Springfield, MO
C #1661 of 1,955
Aspen University
Phoenix, AZ
C- #1855 of 1,955
Johnson & Wales University-Online
Providence, RI
C- #1858 of 1,955
Los Angeles Pacific University
San Dimas, CA
C- #1872 of 1,955

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does University of the People cost?

At University of the People, tuition and fees are $1,400 per year. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.

What is University of the People's ranking?

University of the People ranks #1742 overall in EDsmart's 2027 college rankings with an overall grade of C, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.

What is University of the People's graduation rate?

At University of the People, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 36.3% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings).

What is University of the People's student population?

University of the People enrolls about 22,688 undergraduate students, per U.S. Department of Education enrollment data.

Contact Information

  • Endowment$665,467
  • Transfer Enrollment Rate1.1%

Data Source & Methodology â–Ľ