University of Washington-Tacoma Campus Logo

University of Washington-Tacoma Campus

Tacoma, WA | Public | University

University of Washington-Tacoma Campus has an acceptance rate of 82.5%, an average net price of $11,900, and an overall rank of #220 (Grade A-). About 60.5% of students graduate within 150% of normal time, and median earnings are $80,386 five years after graduation. Data from the U.S. Department of Education and EDsmart's 2026 rankings.

University of Washington-Tacoma Campus is a public university in Tacoma, WA. Students most often pursue Computer and Information Sciences and Electrical, Electronics and Communications Engineering.

Inside the classroom, students benefit from a 15:1 student-faculty ratio, and 80.0% first-year retention. Faculty pair challenging syllabi with intentional mentoring so learners keep momentum even as expectations rise.

EDsmart calculates return on investment at 154.5%, roughly 104.6 points higher than typical outcomes. Expect the strongest outcomes for students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore and career-focused learners aiming for high-impact outcomes.

A-
Ranking
#220 of 1,934
How We Rank Schools Lower tuitionHigher pay after collegePublic school option
At a Glance
Ranking
#220 of 1,934 (Top 11.4%)
Tuition
$13,577
Net Price
$11,900
4-Year Tuition
$54,308
Acceptance Rate
82.5%
Transfer Rate
0.0%
Student Population
4,185
Student-Faculty
15:1
Grad Rate (150% time)
60.5%
Grad Rate (8-year)
74.8%
Retention Rate
80.0%
4-Yr Earnings
$80,386
ROI
Not reported

Who is University of Washington-Tacoma Campus Best For?

A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.

Students aiming for strong salaries
Families tracking affordability closely
First-gen or Pell-eligible support
Students seeking strong career outcomes
Students valuing supportive learning environments

EDsmart Scores Summary

Overall Ranking
#220 of 1,934
Top 11.4% of all institutions
EDsmart Score
88.7 / 100 (national index)
Curved score (top institution = 100.0)
Value Rating
4.43 / 5
Based on ROI and outcomes
Completion
B
#614 of 1,934
Affordability
A-
#323 of 1,934
Support
B
#911 of 1,934
Career Outcomes
B+
#421 of 1,934

University of Washington-Tacoma Campus graduates 60.5% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 74.8% and keeps 80.0% of first-year students. Affordability earns an A- compared with similar schools.

How we calculate this →

Cost & Financial Aid

Quick Answers

What does it cost?
Depends on income
$7,236-$26,542 annual net price based on family income.
What's the graduation rate?
Likely
60.5% graduate within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings). The federal 8-year award rate is 74.8%. 49.2% complete in four years (IPEDS 100% time).
What are job outcomes?
Highly likely
91.0% of alumni are employed within three years of leaving. Median earnings five years after graduation are $80,386. Pay varies by major.
Get Your Personalized Cost Estimate

The costs shown are averages. Use University of Washington-Tacoma Campus's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.

Calculate Your Net Price →

Total Degree Cost Summary

4-Year Total Cost (Pay with Cash)
$113,300
$28,325 × 4 years
Average Total Cost (Pay with Financial Aid)
$52,040
$11,900 × 4.4 years average
Time to Degree
Average: 4.4 years | 4-Year Rate: 49.2% | 6-Year Rate: 60.5% | 8-Year Rate: 74.8%
Most students finish in about four to five years. Four-year completion is 49.2% and six-year completion is 60.5%.

Annual Cost Comparison

Pay with Cash
$28,325
Total annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses; excluding any financial aid, grants or scholarships.
Pay with Financial Aid
$11,900
Average annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses after financial aid, grants or scholarships.

Est. annual aid gap: $16,425 Cash cost of attendance minus average net price after aid.

Cost of Undergraduate Attendance

Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.

View cost of attendance line items
Costs to Consider Price
Tuition and Fees $13,577
Books and Supplies $900
On-Campus Room and Board $16,371
On-Campus Other Expenses $3,582
Total On-Campus Cost $28,325

Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.

Students Receiving Aid

Pell Grant
47.9%
Federal Loan
27.3%

Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.

EDsmart Insight: About 47.9% of University of Washington-Tacoma Campus students receive Pell Grants — above the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.

Net Price by Family Income

Average annual net price after financial aid, based on family income. Your actual cost may vary depending on your specific financial situation.

$0 - $30,000
$7,236
Average annual cost for families earning $0-$30K
$30,001 - $48,000
$6,570
Average annual cost for families earning $30K-$48K
$48,001 - $75,000
$8,115
Average annual cost for families earning $48K-$75K
$75,001 - $110,000
$10,702
Average annual cost for families earning $75K-$110K
$110,001+
$26,542
Average annual cost for families earning $110K+

Understanding These Numbers: Net price varies significantly by income level. Net prices range from $7,236 to $26,542 depending on family income. Use University of Washington-Tacoma Campus's net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Typical total cost estimates (~4.4 years):
$0-$30K families
~$31,644
$30K-$48K families
~$28,732
$48K-$75K families
~$35,488
$75K-$110K families
~$46,801
AFFORDABILITY ALERT

If your family earns $75K-$110K: Expect to pay around $10,702/year

If your family earns $110K+: Expect to pay around $26,542/year

See all income brackets →

ROI & Career Outcomes

Return on Investment
Not reported
Based on median earnings five years after graduation vs. total degree cost
  • Median Earnings (5 Years After Graduation) $80,386
  • 10-Year Median Earnings $83,105
  • Average Years to Graduate 4.4 years
  • Average Student Debt $14,008
  • Debt-to-Earnings ~17.4%
  • Repayment Rate (3yr) 79.0%
  • Employment Rate 91.0%

Graduate Earnings Distribution

Earnings range for University of Washington-Tacoma Campus graduates about 10 years after enrollment (25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile). Different horizon than median earnings five years after graduation above.

Graduates earn a median of $80,386 five years after graduation — roughly 30% above the national median.
Payback Period
0.65 years
Total Degree Cost ÷ Annual Earnings

University of Washington-Tacoma Campus vs. National Average

Comparison of key performance metrics showing how University of Washington-Tacoma Campus's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes University of Washington-Tacoma Campus's performance within the broader higher education landscape.

Acceptance & Selectivity

Getting In

Acceptance Rate
82.5%
Lightly Selective
National Average
69%
Average acceptance rate
  • SAT Evidence-Based Reading Not reported
  • SAT Math Not reported
  • SAT Writing Not reported
  • ACT Composite Not reported
  • SAT & ACTNot required
  • Undergraduate Enrollment 4,185
  • Full-Time Students 89.6%
  • Part-Time Students 10.4%
  • Retention Rate 80.0%
  • Grad Rate (150% time) 60.5%
  • Grad Rate (8-year) 74.8%
  • Student-Faculty Ratio 15:1

How to Get Into University of Washington-Tacoma Campus

1. Meet Academic Requirements: University of Washington-Tacoma Campus requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.

2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.

3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of 82.5%, University of Washington-Tacoma Campus is relatively open. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.

4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.

Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.

EDsmart Insight: With a 82.5% acceptance rate, University of Washington-Tacoma Campus is more accessible than highly selective schools. Meeting the test score ranges and maintaining a solid GPA significantly improves admission chances.

Academic Programs

Undergraduate Program Distribution

Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among University of Washington-Tacoma Campus undergraduates. Computer and Information Sciences, General, Psychology, General, and Business Administration, Management and Operations draw the most students.

  • Computer and Information Sciences, General 17.9%
  • Psychology, General 10.7%
  • Business Administration, Management and Operations 8.9%
  • Communication and Media Studies 6.8%
  • Accounting and Related Services 5.7%
  • Criminal Justice and Corrections 5.5%
See more majors
  • Finance and Financial Management Services 4.6%
  • Biology, General 4.2%

Highest Earning Programs

Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.

Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)

  • 1. Computer and Information Sciences, General $121,341
  • 2. Electrical, Electronics and Communications Engineering $108,406
  • 3. Finance and Financial Management Services $106,265
Show additional high-earning majors
  • 4. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing $99,042
  • 5. Mechanical Engineering $94,653
  • 6. Civil Engineering $93,627
  • 7. Accounting and Related Services $87,336
  • 8. Marketing $81,356
  • 9. Business Administration, Management and Operations $75,229
  • 10. Non-Professional General Legal Studies (Undergraduate) $74,073

Graduate Programs (Master's, Doctoral, Professional)

  • 1. Computer and Information Sciences, General (Master's Degree) $202,642
  • 2. Business Administration, Management and Operations (Master's Degree) $177,513
  • 3. Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management (Master's Degree) $172,771
Show additional graduate majors
  • 4. Computer Science (Master's Degree) $155,261
  • 5. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing (Master's Degree) $125,171
  • 6. Education, General (Doctoral Degree) $120,269
  • 7. Accounting and Related Services (Master's Degree) $115,270
  • 8. Educational Administration and Supervision (Master's Degree) $105,908
  • 9. Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods (Master's Degree) $95,189
  • 10. City/Urban, Community and Regional Planning (Master's Degree) $93,943

Program Choice Matters: Undergraduate: Computer and Information Sciences, General grads earn $121,341—64% more than Non-Professional General Legal Studies (Undergraduate) ($74,073). Graduate: Computer and Information Sciences, General programs lead with $202,642 median earnings. Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.

Online Degrees & Distance Learning

U.S. Department of Education data reports fully online programs for University of Washington-Tacoma Campus. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education

Most Popular Online Degrees

  • Computer and Information Sciences, General (Bachelor's Degree, 268 graduates)
  • Psychology, General (Bachelor's Degree, 180 graduates)
  • Business Administration, Management and Operations (Bachelor's Degree, 107 graduates)
  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (Bachelor's Degree, 101 graduates)
  • Computer and Information Sciences, General (Master's Degree, 90 graduates)

What This School Offers Online, at a Glance

U.S. Department of Education data flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.

Online Bachelor's Degrees (32 programs)▼
  • Computer and Information Sciences, General
  • Psychology, General
  • Business Administration, Management and Operations
  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing
  • Biology, General
  • Communication and Media Studies
  • Accounting and Related Services
  • Finance and Financial Management Services
  • Social Work
  • Marketing
  • Social Sciences, Other
  • Urban Studies/Affairs
  • Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering
  • Non-Professional Legal Studies
  • Natural Resources Conservation and Research
  • Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
  • Public Health
  • Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies
  • History
  • Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, General
  • Statistics
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies
  • Computer Engineering
  • International/Globalization Studies
  • Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
  • Economics
  • Area Studies
  • Political Science and Government
  • Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other
  • Education, General
  • Civil Engineering
Online Master's Degrees (15 programs)▼
  • Computer and Information Sciences, General
  • Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods
  • Social Work
  • Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management
  • Business Administration, Management and Operations
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods
  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing
  • City/Urban, Community, and Regional Planning
  • Education, General
  • Geography and Cartography
  • Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Educational Administration and Supervision
  • Computer Science
  • Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other
  • Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, General
Online Doctoral Degrees (2 programs)▼
  • Education, General
  • Computer and Information Sciences, General
Online Graduate/Professional Certificates (1 program)▼
  • Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology

Student Demographics

Student Population

  • Total Undergraduate Enrollment 4,185
  • Full-Time Students 89.6%
  • Part-Time Students 10.4%
  • Male Students 52.9%
  • Female Students 47.1%
  • Caucasian 33.4%
  • Asian 22.5%
  • Hispanic 16.1%
  • Black 12.0%
  • Pell Grant Recipients 47.9%

Racial & Ethnic Diversity

Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects University of Washington-Tacoma Campus's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.

Gender Distribution

Gender breakdown of University of Washington-Tacoma Campus's undergraduate population. The university maintains a roughly balanced gender distribution across its student body.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does University of Washington-Tacoma Campus support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
55.3%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
65.1%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
9.8 pts
good equity

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a similar rate as higher-income students, indicating adequate institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at University of Washington-Tacoma Campus, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

EDsmart Insight: University of Washington-Tacoma Campus has a diverse student body, with 33.4% identifying as White.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does University of Washington-Tacoma Campus support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
55.3%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
65.1%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
9.8 pts
good equity

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a similar rate as higher-income students, indicating adequate institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at University of Washington-Tacoma Campus, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

Our Take

University of Washington-Tacoma Campus serves as an affordable university for students seeking quality education without elite university costs. Ranked #220 overall with ROI data not available, the institution balances practical outcomes with budget-friendly pricing.

At $11,900 annually, students gain access to career-focused programs leading to $80,386 median earnings. The 60.5% graduation rate reflects reasonable completion metrics for a university. While 80.0% retention suggests adequate student support.

University Value: University of Washington-Tacoma Campus's Strengths

Ranked #220 with a A- grade, University of Washington-Tacoma Campus prioritizes accessibility and local career connections over national prestige.

Primary Strengths: Universitys like University of Washington-Tacoma Campus excel at providing affordable education ($11,900 annually) with strong local employer relationships. Many programs emphasize practical skills and internships within the regional economy.

Best For: Students planning to work in the region after graduation benefit from established employer connections. Adult learners and part-time students appreciate flexible scheduling. First-generation students and budget-conscious families gain degrees without overwhelming debt.

Honest Assessment: University of Washington-Tacoma Campus's 80.0% retention and 60.5% graduation rate trail elite universities but align with typical university performance. Career outcomes ($80,386 median earnings) reflect regional job markets more than national opportunities.

Value Verdict: For students committed to regional careers, University of Washington-Tacoma Campus and $11,900 cost deliver solid value. Those seeking national job mobility or prestigious credentials should compare against flagship state universities or targeted private scholarships.

Key Takeaways

  • 60.5% graduation rate sits 2.0 points below the national 62.5% benchmark.
  • 80.0% first-year retention is 3.2 points above the national norm of 76.8%.
  • Median earnings of $80,386 run about 30% higher than national outcomes five years after graduation.
  • Average net price of $11,900 is roughly $8,008 lower than the national median of $19,908.
  • 91.0% employment rate within three years is 22.8 points above the national 68.2%.

Helpfulness for Students

Green Flags
  • 15:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
  • 80.0% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
  • 91.0% employment rate within three years sits 22.8 points above national outcomes.
Red Flags
  • Budget carefully for clinical travel, off-campus housing, and practicum fees to avoid surprise costs.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis

Located in Tacoma, WA, University of Washington-Tacoma Campus operates as a public university and receives a A- from EDsmart. It is currently ranked #220 overall Completion earns B, Support B, Career Outcomes B+, and Affordability A-.

Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2026 methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.

Student momentum is strong: 80.0% retention, 60.5% graduation within 150% of normal time, and 74.8% earning an award within eight years. Review the cost and aid tables for a full picture of value.

Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.

EDsmart Financial Snapshot

Families pay about $11,900 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $28,325.

Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $16,425 per year.

Graduates leave with a median of $14,008 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.

About 47.9% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.

Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.

EDsmart Career Snapshot

Five years after graduation, alumni earn roughly $80,386 at the median. This is roughly 30% above typical U.S. college outcomes.

The three-year employment rate is close to 91.0%.

Use the ROI table above to estimate how long it may take to recoup your degree costs.

Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.

EDsmart Admissions Snapshot

82.5% of applicants receive offers, so preparation and fit matter.

The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.

Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the University of Washington-Tacoma Campus admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.

Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.

EDsmart Verdict
4.43 / 5
Value Rating - Based on affordability and career outcomes

Your Decision Toolkit

Run the Net Price Calculator
Get your personalized cost estimate
Compare with similar schools
See how University of Washington-Tacoma Campus stacks up to alternatives
Check your major's earnings
See ROI for your specific field of study
Visit the campus
Schedule a campus tour or virtual visit
Visit University of Washington-Tacoma Campus Website →

Cite this profile

Add your access date when you publish.

APA (7th): EDsmart. (2026). University of Washington-Tacoma Campus: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings. https://www.edsmart.org/schools/university-of-washington-tacoma-campus/

MLA (9th): “University of Washington-Tacoma Campus: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” EDsmart, 2026, www.edsmart.org/schools/university-of-washington-tacoma-campus/.

Chicago: EDsmart. “University of Washington-Tacoma Campus: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” https://www.edsmart.org/schools/university-of-washington-tacoma-campus/.

Similar Schools

Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes

Nearby Schools

Other campuses you might consider

Other Washington campuses you might consider

Great Northern University
Spokane, WA
A- #205 of 1,934
Gonzaga University
Spokane, WA
A- #134 of 1,934
University of Washington-Bothell Campus
Bothell, WA
B+ #325 of 1,934
University of Washington-Seattle Campus
Seattle, WA
A #105 of 1,934

Frequently Asked Questions

What is University of Washington-Tacoma Campus's acceptance rate?

University of Washington-Tacoma Campus's acceptance rate is 82.5%, based on U.S. Department of Education admissions data.

How much does University of Washington-Tacoma Campus cost?

At University of Washington-Tacoma Campus, listed tuition and fees are $13,577 per year, and the average net price after aid is $11,900. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.

What is University of Washington-Tacoma Campus's ranking?

University of Washington-Tacoma Campus ranks #220 overall in EDsmart's 2026 college rankings with an overall grade of A-, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.

What is University of Washington-Tacoma Campus's graduation rate?

At University of Washington-Tacoma Campus, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 60.5% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), the federal 8-year award rate is 74.8%, and first-year retention is 80.0%.

What are University of Washington-Tacoma Campus's job outcomes?

Graduates of University of Washington-Tacoma Campus report median earnings of $80,386 five years after graduation, according to U.S. Department of Education outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.

What is University of Washington-Tacoma Campus's student population?

University of Washington-Tacoma Campus enrolls about 4,185 undergraduate students, per U.S. Department of Education enrollment data.

Contact Information

  • AccreditationNorthwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU)
  • Endowment$98.4M

Data Source & Methodology ▼