University of West Georgia Logo

University of West Georgia

Carrollton, GA | Public | University

University of West Georgia has an acceptance rate of 51.6%, an average net price of $11,787, and an overall rank of #983 (Grade B). About 43.7% of students graduate within 150% of normal time, and median earnings are $56,580 five years after graduation. Data from the U.S. Department of Education and EDsmart's 2026 rankings.

University of West Georgia is a public university in Carrollton, GA. Students most often pursue Computer and Information Sciences and Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing.

Day to day, students benefit from a 18:1 student-faculty ratio, and 77.5% first-year retention. Coaches and faculty advisors weave in frequent check-ins, helping students translate ambition into steady progress.

EDsmart calculates return on investment at 99.6%, roughly 49.7 points higher than typical outcomes. It's well-suited to students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore.

B
Ranking
#983 of 1,934
How We Rank Schools Lower tuitionPublic school option
At a Glance
Ranking
#983 of 1,934 (Top 50.8%)
Tuition
$6,088
Net Price
$11,787
4-Year Tuition
$24,352
Acceptance Rate
51.6%
Transfer Rate
30.6%
Student Population
7,520
Student-Faculty
18:1
Grad Rate (150% time)
43.7%
Grad Rate (8-year)
47.4%
Retention Rate
77.5%
4-Yr Earnings
$56,580
ROI
Not reported

Who is University of West Georgia Best For?

A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.

Families tracking affordability closely
First-gen or Pell-eligible support
Students valuing supportive learning environments

EDsmart Scores Summary

Overall Ranking
#983 of 1,934
Top 50.8% of all institutions
EDsmart Score
49.2 / 100 (national index)
Curved score (top institution = 100.0)
Value Rating
2.46 / 5
Based on ROI and outcomes
Completion
B-
#1,221 of 1,934
Affordability
B+
#431 of 1,934
Support
B-
#1,298 of 1,934
Career Outcomes
B-
#1,099 of 1,934

University of West Georgia graduates 43.7% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 47.4% and keeps 77.5% of first-year students. Affordability earns a B+ compared with similar schools.

How we calculate this →

Cost & Financial Aid

Quick Answers

What does it cost?
Depends on income
$10,004-$16,332 annual net price based on family income.
What's the graduation rate?
Somewhat likely
43.7% graduate within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings). The federal 8-year award rate is 47.4%. 25.8% complete in four years (IPEDS 100% time).
What are job outcomes?
Highly likely
92.0% of alumni are employed within three years of leaving. Median earnings five years after graduation are $56,580. Pay varies by major.
Get Your Personalized Cost Estimate

The costs shown are averages. Use University of West Georgia's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.

Calculate Your Net Price →

Total Degree Cost Summary

4-Year Total Cost (Pay with Cash)
$85,276
$21,319 × 4 years
Average Total Cost (Pay with Financial Aid)
$56,798
$11,787 × 4.8 years average
Time to Degree
Average: 4.8 years | 4-Year Rate: 25.8% | 6-Year Rate: 43.7% | 8-Year Rate: 47.4%
Most students finish in about four to five years. Four-year completion is 25.8% and six-year completion is 43.7%.

Annual Cost Comparison

Pay with Cash
$21,319
Total annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses; excluding any financial aid, grants or scholarships.
Pay with Financial Aid
$11,787
Average annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses after financial aid, grants or scholarships.

Est. annual aid gap: $9,532 Cash cost of attendance minus average net price after aid.

Cost of Undergraduate Attendance

Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.

View cost of attendance line items
Costs to Consider Price
Tuition and Fees $6,088
Books and Supplies $800
On-Campus Room and Board $12,152
On-Campus Other Expenses $6,490
Total On-Campus Cost $21,319

Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.

Students Receiving Aid

Pell Grant
40.3%
Federal Loan
31.6%

Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.

EDsmart Insight: About 40.3% of University of West Georgia students receive Pell Grants — in line with the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.

Net Price by Family Income

Average annual net price after financial aid, based on family income. Your actual cost may vary depending on your specific financial situation.

$0 - $30,000
$10,004
Average annual cost for families earning $0-$30K
$30,001 - $48,000
$9,511
Average annual cost for families earning $30K-$48K
$48,001 - $75,000
$10,647
Average annual cost for families earning $48K-$75K
$75,001 - $110,000
$13,971
Average annual cost for families earning $75K-$110K
$110,001+
$16,332
Average annual cost for families earning $110K+

Understanding These Numbers: Net price varies significantly by income level. Net prices range from $10,004 to $16,332 depending on family income. Use University of West Georgia's net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Typical total cost estimates (~4.8 years):
$0-$30K families
~$48,206
$30K-$48K families
~$45,830
$48K-$75K families
~$51,304
$75K-$110K families
~$67,321
AFFORDABILITY ALERT

If your family earns $75K-$110K: Expect to pay around $13,971/year

If your family earns $110K+: Expect to pay around $16,332/year

See all income brackets →

ROI & Career Outcomes

Return on Investment
Not reported
Based on median earnings five years after graduation vs. total degree cost
  • Median Earnings (5 Years After Graduation) $56,580
  • 10-Year Median Earnings $54,320
  • Average Years to Graduate 4.8 years
  • Average Student Debt $20,750
  • Debt-to-Earnings ~36.7%
  • Repayment Rate (3yr) 43.4%
  • Employment Rate 92.0%

Graduate Earnings Distribution

Earnings range for University of West Georgia graduates about 10 years after enrollment (25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile). Different horizon than median earnings five years after graduation above.

Graduates earn a median of $56,580 five years after graduation — roughly 8% below the national median.
Payback Period
1.00 years
Total Degree Cost ÷ Annual Earnings

University of West Georgia vs. National Average

Comparison of key performance metrics showing how University of West Georgia's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes University of West Georgia's performance within the broader higher education landscape.

Acceptance & Selectivity

Getting In

Acceptance Rate
51.6%
Less Selective
National Average
69%
Average acceptance rate
  • SAT Evidence-Based Reading 490-590
  • SAT Math 460-550
  • SAT Writing Not reported
  • ACT Composite 17-22
  • SAT & ACT Required
  • Undergraduate Enrollment 7,520
  • Full-Time Students 78.8%
  • Part-Time Students 21.2%
  • Retention Rate 77.5%
  • Grad Rate (150% time) 43.7%
  • Grad Rate (8-year) 47.4%
  • Student-Faculty Ratio 18:1

How to Get Into University of West Georgia

1. Meet Academic Requirements: University of West Georgia requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.

2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.

3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of 51.6%, University of West Georgia is relatively open. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.

4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.

Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.

EDsmart Insight: With a 51.6% acceptance rate, University of West Georgia is more accessible than highly selective schools. Meeting the test score ranges and maintaining a solid GPA significantly improves admission chances. The middle 50% of admitted students score between 950 and 1140 on the SAT.

Academic Programs

Undergraduate Program Distribution

Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among University of West Georgia undergraduates. Business Administration, Management and Operations, Psychology, General, and Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing draw the most students.

  • Business Administration, Management and Operations 9.1%
  • Psychology, General 8.9%
  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing 7.6%
  • Criminology 7.2%
  • Journalism 6.7%
  • Biology, General 6.1%
See more majors
  • Marketing 5.7%
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods 5.6%

Highest Earning Programs

Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.

Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)

  • 1. Computer and Information Sciences, General $98,657
  • 2. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing $92,868
  • 3. Finance and Financial Management Services $70,940
Show additional high-earning majors
  • 4. Accounting and Related Services $67,825
  • 5. Management Information Systems and Services $64,877
  • 6. Economics $58,939
  • 7. Marketing $58,070
  • 8. Business Administration, Management and Operations $56,902
  • 9. Parks, Recreation and Leisure Facilities Management $53,752
  • 10. Special Education and Teaching $52,216

Graduate Programs (Master's, Doctoral, Professional)

  • 1. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing (Master's Degree) $104,649
  • 2. Education, Other (Doctoral Degree) $98,348
  • 3. Business Administration, Management and Operations (Master's Degree) $95,558
Show additional graduate majors
  • 4. Educational Administration and Supervision (Master's Degree) $93,501
  • 5. Special Education and Teaching (Master's Degree) $71,784
  • 6. Educational/Instructional Media Design (Master's Degree) $71,372
  • 7. Public Administration (Master's Degree) $64,461
  • 8. Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas (Master's Degree) $62,011
  • 9. Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (Master's Degree) $61,849
  • 10. Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (Master's Degree) $60,514

Program Choice Matters: Undergraduate: Computer and Information Sciences, General grads earn $98,657—89% more than Special Education and Teaching ($52,216). Graduate: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing programs lead with $104,649 median earnings. Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.

Online Degrees & Distance Learning

U.S. Department of Education data reports fully online programs for University of West Georgia. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education

Most Popular Online Degrees

  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (Master's Degree, 226 graduates)
  • Psychology, General (Bachelor's Degree, 169 graduates)
  • Biology, General (Bachelor's Degree, 115 graduates)
  • Journalism (Bachelor's Degree, 102 graduates)
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (Bachelor's Degree, 95 graduates)

What This School Offers Online, at a Glance

U.S. Department of Education data flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.

Online Bachelor's Degrees (30 programs)▼
  • Psychology, General
  • Biology, General
  • Journalism
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods
  • Marketing
  • Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General
  • Management Information Systems and Services
  • Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities Management
  • Finance and Financial Management Services
  • Communication Disorders Sciences and Services
  • Accounting and Related Services
  • Fine and Studio Arts
  • Behavioral Sciences
  • English Language and Literature, General
  • Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, General
  • History
  • Chemistry
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas
  • Music
  • Film/Video and Photographic Arts
  • Anthropology
  • Philosophy
  • Mathematics
  • Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, Other
  • Geography and Cartography
  • Physics
  • Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences
  • Data Analytics
  • Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft
  • International Relations and National Security Studies
Online Master's Degrees (9 programs)▼
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods
  • Student Counseling and Personnel Services
  • Communication Disorders Sciences and Services
  • Accounting and Related Services
  • History
  • Psychology, General
  • Biology, General
  • Sociology
  • English Language and Literature, General
Online Doctoral Degrees (1 program)▼
  • Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology
Online Graduate/Professional Certificates (2 programs)▼
  • Museology/Museum Studies
  • History
Online Undergraduate Certificates & Diplomas (5 programs)▼
  • Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, Other
  • Philosophy
  • Music
  • Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft
  • Area Studies

Student Demographics

Student Population

  • Total Undergraduate Enrollment 7,520
  • Full-Time Students 78.8%
  • Part-Time Students 21.2%
  • Male Students 38.0%
  • Female Students 62.0%
  • Caucasian 49.3%
  • Asian 1.2%
  • Hispanic 10.2%
  • Black 30.8%
  • Pell Grant Recipients 40.3%

Racial & Ethnic Diversity

Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects University of West Georgia's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.

Gender Distribution

Gender breakdown of University of West Georgia's undergraduate population. The university maintains a roughly balanced gender distribution across its student body.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does University of West Georgia support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
42.1%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
45.8%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
3.7 pts
excellent equity

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at nearly the same rate as higher-income students, indicating strong institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at University of West Georgia, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

EDsmart Insight: University of West Georgia has a diverse student body, with 49.3% identifying as White. Women make up 62.0% of undergraduates.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does University of West Georgia support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
42.1%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
45.8%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
3.7 pts
excellent equity

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at nearly the same rate as higher-income students, indicating strong institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at University of West Georgia, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

Our Take

University of West Georgia serves as an affordable university for students seeking quality education without elite university costs. Ranked #983 overall with ROI data not available, the institution balances practical outcomes with budget-friendly pricing.

At $11,787 annually, students gain access to career-focused programs leading to $56,580 median earnings. The 43.7% graduation rate reflects reasonable completion metrics for a university. While 77.5% retention suggests adequate student support.

University Value: University of West Georgia's Strengths

Ranked #983 with a B grade, University of West Georgia prioritizes accessibility and local career connections over national prestige.

Primary Strengths: Universitys like University of West Georgia excel at providing affordable education ($11,787 annually) with strong local employer relationships. Many programs emphasize practical skills and internships within the regional economy.

Best For: Students planning to work in the region after graduation benefit from established employer connections. Adult learners and part-time students appreciate flexible scheduling. First-generation students and budget-conscious families gain degrees without overwhelming debt.

Honest Assessment: University of West Georgia's 77.5% retention and 43.7% graduation rate trail elite universities but align with typical university performance. Career outcomes ($56,580 median earnings) reflect regional job markets more than national opportunities.

Value Verdict: For students committed to regional careers, University of West Georgia and $11,787 cost deliver solid value. Those seeking national job mobility or prestigious credentials should compare against flagship state universities or targeted private scholarships.

Key Takeaways

  • 43.7% graduation rate sits 18.8 points below the national 62.5% benchmark.
  • 77.5% first-year retention is 0.7 points above the national norm of 76.8%.
  • Median earnings of $56,580 run about 8% lower than national outcomes five years after graduation.
  • Average net price of $11,787 is roughly $8,120 lower than the national median of $19,908.
  • 92.0% employment rate within three years is 23.8 points above the national 68.2%.

Helpfulness for Students

Green Flags
  • 18:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
  • 77.5% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
  • 92.0% employment rate within three years sits 23.8 points above national outcomes.
Red Flags
  • Budget carefully for clinical travel, off-campus housing, and practicum fees to avoid surprise costs.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis

Located in Carrollton, GA, University of West Georgia operates as a public university and receives a B from EDsmart. It is currently ranked #983 overall Completion earns B-, Support B-, Career Outcomes B-, and Affordability B+.

Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2026 methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.

About 77.5% of first-year students return; 43.7% graduate within 150% of normal time, with an 8-year award rate of 47.4%. Review the cost and aid tables for a full picture of value.

Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.

EDsmart Financial Snapshot

Families pay about $11,787 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $21,319.

Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $9,532 per year.

Graduates leave with a median of $20,750 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.

About 40.3% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.

Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.

EDsmart Career Snapshot

Median earnings come in near $56,580 five years after graduation. That sits about 8% below the national median.

Employment outcomes report about 92.0% of alumni working within three years.

Use the ROI table above to estimate how long it may take to recoup your degree costs.

Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.

EDsmart Admissions Snapshot

51.6% of applicants receive offers, so preparation and fit matter.

The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.

Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the University of West Georgia admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.

Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.

EDsmart Verdict
2.46 / 5
Value Rating - Based on affordability and career outcomes

Your Decision Toolkit

Run the Net Price Calculator
Get your personalized cost estimate
Compare with similar schools
See how University of West Georgia stacks up to alternatives
Check your major's earnings
See ROI for your specific field of study
Visit the campus
Schedule a campus tour or virtual visit
Visit University of West Georgia Website →

Cite this profile

Add your access date when you publish.

APA (7th): EDsmart. (2026). University of West Georgia: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings. https://www.edsmart.org/schools/university-of-west-georgia/

MLA (9th): “University of West Georgia: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” EDsmart, 2026, www.edsmart.org/schools/university-of-west-georgia/.

Chicago: EDsmart. “University of West Georgia: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” https://www.edsmart.org/schools/university-of-west-georgia/.

Similar Schools

Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes

Nearby Schools

Other campuses you might consider

Other Georgia campuses you might consider

Chamberlain University-Georgia
Sandy Springs, GA
B #969 of 1,934
Kennesaw State University
Kennesaw, GA
B #1007 of 1,934
Fort Valley State University
Fort Valley, GA
B #954 of 1,934
Georgia State University
Atlanta, GA
B #945 of 1,934

Frequently Asked Questions

What is University of West Georgia's acceptance rate?

University of West Georgia's acceptance rate is 51.6%, based on U.S. Department of Education admissions data.

How much does University of West Georgia cost?

At University of West Georgia, listed tuition and fees are $6,088 per year, and the average net price after aid is $11,787. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.

What is University of West Georgia's ranking?

University of West Georgia ranks #983 overall in EDsmart's 2026 college rankings with an overall grade of B, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.

What is University of West Georgia's graduation rate?

At University of West Georgia, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 43.7% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), the federal 8-year award rate is 47.4%, and first-year retention is 77.5%.

What are University of West Georgia's job outcomes?

Graduates of University of West Georgia report median earnings of $56,580 five years after graduation, according to U.S. Department of Education outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.

What is University of West Georgia's student population?

University of West Georgia enrolls about 7,520 undergraduate students, per U.S. Department of Education enrollment data.

Contact Information

  • AccreditationSouthern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCC)
  • Endowment$41.7M
  • Transfer Enrollment Rate30.6%

Data Source & Methodology ▼