Wayne State College
Wayne State College has annual tuition of $8,216, average net price of $15,360, and a national rank of #1214 (Grade B-), with a 52.1% graduation rate within 150% of normal time, about 3,010 undergraduates, and median earnings of $52,406 four years after graduation. Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and EDsmart's 2026 rankings.
Wayne State College is a public university in Wayne, NE. Students most often pursue Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians and Business Administration, Management and Operations.
Inside the classroom, students benefit from a 19:1 student-faculty ratio, and 72.4% first-year retention. Faculty pair challenging syllabi with intentional mentoring so learners keep momentum even as expectations rise.
EDsmart calculates return on investment at 73.8%, roughly 23.9 points higher than typical outcomes. Expect the strongest outcomes for students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore.
Who is Wayne State College Best For?
A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.
EDsmart Scores Summary
Wayne State College graduates 52.1% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 54.0% and keeps 72.4% of first-year students. Affordability earns a B compared with similar schools.
How we calculate this →Cost & Financial Aid
Quick Answers
The costs shown are averages. Use Wayne State College's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.
Calculate Your Net Price →Total Degree Cost Summary
Annual Cost Comparison
Cost of Undergraduate Attendance
Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.
View cost of attendance line items
| Costs to Consider | Price |
|---|---|
| Tuition and Fees | $8,216 |
| Books and Supplies | $1,536 |
| On-Campus Room and Board | $10,142 |
| On-Campus Other Expenses | $3,798 |
| Total On-Campus Cost | $22,565 |
Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.
Students Receiving Aid
Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.
EDsmart Insight: About 25.8% of Wayne State College students receive Pell Grants — below the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.
Net Price by Family Income
Average annual net price after financial aid, based on family income. Your actual cost may vary depending on your specific financial situation.
Understanding These Numbers: Net price varies significantly by income level. Net prices range from $12,844 to $18,905 depending on family income. Use Wayne State College's net price calculator for a personalized estimate.
If your family earns $75K-$110K: Expect to pay around $16,841/year
If your family earns $110K+: Expect to pay around $18,905/year
See all income brackets →ROI & Career Outcomes
- Median Earnings (4 Years After Graduation) $52,406
- 10-Year Median Earnings $47,075
- Average Years to Graduate 4.6 years
- Average Student Debt $19,000
- Repayment Rate (3yr) 69.2%
- Employment Rate 94.7%
Graduate Earnings Distribution
Earnings range for Wayne State College graduates 6 years after enrollment, showing the 25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile. This illustrates the variation in outcomes across different majors and career paths.
Wayne State College vs. National Average
Comparison of key performance metrics showing how Wayne State College's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes Wayne State College's performance within the broader higher education landscape.
EDsmart Insight: Wayne State College graduates earn $52,406 median four years after graduation, -13% above the national average. Earnings vary significantly by major—research your field's outcomes.
Acceptance & Selectivity
Getting In
- SAT Evidence-Based Reading Not reported
- SAT Math Not reported
- SAT Writing Not reported
- ACT Composite Not reported
- SAT & ACTNot required
- Undergraduate Enrollment 3,010
- Full-Time Students 93.0%
- Part-Time Students 7.0%
- Retention Rate 72.4%
- Grad Rate (150% time) 52.1%
- Grad Rate (8-year) 54.0%
- Student-Faculty Ratio 19:1
How to Get Into Wayne State College
1. Meet Academic Requirements: Wayne State College requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.
2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.
3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of Not reported, Wayne State College is selective. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.
4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.
Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.
Academic Programs
Undergraduate Program Distribution
Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among Wayne State College undergraduates. Business Administration, Management and Operations, Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods, and Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods draw the most students.
- Business Administration, Management and Operations 18.2%
- Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods 11.6%
- Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods 9.2%
- Criminal Justice and Corrections 8.4%
- Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology 6.4%
- Biology, General 6.3%
See more majors
- Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitnes 5.4%
- Special Education and Teaching 5.1%
Highest Earning Programs
Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.
Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)
- 1. Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians $54,600
- 2. Business Administration, Management and Operations $53,578
- 3. Information Science/Studies $49,981
Show additional high-earning majors
- 4. Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas $49,237
- 5. Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods $46,674
- 6. Criminal Justice and Corrections $45,111
- 7. Health and Physical Education/Fitness $42,138
- 8. Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology $39,036
- 9. Communication and Media Studies $35,833
- 10. Biology, General $32,538
Graduate Programs (Master's, Doctoral, Professional)
- 1. Business Administration, Management and Operations (Master's Degree) $69,533
- 2. Educational Administration and Supervision (Master's Degree) $66,147
- 3. Curriculum and Instruction (Master's Degree) $57,153
Show additional graduate majors
- 4. Student Counseling and Personnel Services (Master's Degree) $50,391
Program Choice Matters: Undergraduate: Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians grads earn $54,600—68% more than Biology, General ($32,538). Graduate: Business Administration, Management and Operations programs lead with $69,533 median earnings. Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.
Online Degrees & Distance Learning
College Scorecard reports fully online programs for Wayne State College. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education – College Scorecard
Most Popular Online Degrees
- Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (Bachelor's Degree, 70 graduates)
- Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas (Bachelor's Degree, 56 graduates)
- Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology (Bachelor's Degree, 39 graduates)
- Biology, General (Bachelor's Degree, 38 graduates)
- Health and Physical Education/Fitness (Bachelor's Degree, 33 graduates)
What This School Offers Online, at a Glance
College Scorecard flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.
Online Bachelor's Degrees (28 programs)▼
- Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods
- Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas
- Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology
- Biology, General
- Health and Physical Education/Fitness
- Special Education and Teaching
- Chemistry
- Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians
- Information Science/Studies
- Communication and Media Studies
- Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, Other
- Psychology, General
- Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other
- English Language and Literature, General
- Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services
- Sociology
- Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General
- Fine and Studio Arts
- Design and Applied Arts
- Computer and Information Sciences, General
- Mathematics
- Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
- Political Science and Government
- Music
- History
- Geography and Cartography
- Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft
- Social Sciences, General
Online Master's Degrees (2 programs)▼
- Student Counseling and Personnel Services
- Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other
Student Demographics
Student Population
- Total Undergraduate Enrollment 3,010
- Full-Time Students 93.0%
- Part-Time Students 7.0%
- Male Students 43.2%
- Female Students 56.8%
- Caucasian 76.0%
- Asian 0.7%
- Hispanic 10.2%
- Black 2.6%
- Pell Grant Recipients 25.8%
Racial & Ethnic Diversity
Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects Wayne State College's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.
Gender Distribution
Gender breakdown of Wayne State College's undergraduate population. The university maintains a roughly balanced gender distribution across its student body.
Graduation Rate Equity Analysis
How well does Wayne State College support students from different economic backgrounds?
What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a different rate as higher-income students, indicating varying levels of institutional support for all economic backgrounds.
Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity
Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity
Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Wayne State College, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.
EDsmart Insight: The student body is 76.0% White, reflecting less racial diversity than the national average.
Graduation Rate Equity Analysis
How well does Wayne State College support students from different economic backgrounds?
What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a different rate as higher-income students, indicating varying levels of institutional support for all economic backgrounds.
Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity
Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity
Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Wayne State College, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.
Our Take
Wayne State College serves as an affordable college for students seeking quality education without elite university costs. Ranked #1214 nationally with a 73.8% ROI, the institution balances practical outcomes with budget-friendly pricing.
At $15,360 annually, students gain access to career-focused programs leading to $52,406 median earnings. The 52.1% graduation rate reflects reasonable completion metrics for a college. While 72.4% retention suggests adequate student support.
College Value: Wayne State College's Strengths
Ranked #1214 with a B- grade, Wayne State College prioritizes accessibility and local career connections over national prestige.
Primary Strengths: Colleges like Wayne State College excel at providing affordable education ($15,360 annually) with strong local employer relationships. Many programs emphasize practical skills and internships within the regional economy.
Best For: Students planning to work in the region after graduation benefit from established employer connections. Adult learners and part-time students appreciate flexible scheduling. First-generation students and budget-conscious families gain degrees without overwhelming debt.
Honest Assessment: Wayne State College's 72.4% retention and 52.1% graduation rate trail elite universities but align with typical college performance. Career outcomes ($52,406 median earnings) reflect regional job markets more than national opportunities.
Value Verdict: For students committed to regional careers, Wayne State College's 73.8% ROI and $15,360 cost deliver solid value. Those seeking national job mobility or prestigious credentials should compare against flagship state universities or targeted private scholarships.
Key Takeaways
- 52.1% graduation rate sits 10.4 points below the national 62.5% benchmark.
- 72.4% first-year retention is 4.4 points below the national norm of 76.8%.
- 73.8% return on investment is 23.9 points above the national 49.9% benchmark.
- Median earnings of $52,406 run about 13% lower than national outcomes four years after graduation.
- Average net price of $15,360 is roughly $4,719 lower than the national median of $20,079.
Helpfulness for Students
- 19:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
- 72.4% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
- 94.7% employment rate within three years sits 26.5 points above national outcomes.
- Pell participation at 25.8% trails the national share by 8.6 points, so equity work remains important.
- Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
- Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis
EDsmart rates Wayne State College—a public university in Wayne, NE—at B- overall. It is currently ranked #1214 nationally Category results include Completion (B-), Support (C+), Career Outcomes (B), and Affordability (B).
Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2026 methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.
Student momentum is strong: 72.4% retention, 52.1% graduation within 150% of normal time, and 54.0% earning an award within eight years. The reported ROI is 73.8%, a figure families can weigh against cost and aid details above.
Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.
EDsmart Financial Snapshot
Families pay about $15,360 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $22,565.
Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $7,205 per year.
Graduates leave with a median of $19,000 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.
About 25.8% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.
Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.
EDsmart Career Snapshot
Median earnings come in near $52,406 four years after graduation. This is roughly 13% below typical U.S. college outcomes.
The three-year employment rate is close to 94.7%.
Plan around an ROI of about 73.8% according to the Scorecard data.
Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.
EDsmart Admissions Snapshot
This institution has not reported a current acceptance rate.
The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.
Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the Wayne State College admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.
Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.
Your Decision Toolkit
Similar Schools
Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes
Nearby Schools
Other campuses you might consider
Other Nebraska campuses you might consider
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does Wayne State College cost?
At Wayne State College, listed tuition and fees are $8,216 per year, and the average net price after aid is $15,360. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.
What is Wayne State College's ranking?
Wayne State College ranks #1214 nationally in EDsmart's 2026 college rankings with an overall grade of B-, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.
What is Wayne State College's graduation rate?
At Wayne State College, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 52.1% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), College Scorecard 8-year award rate is 54.0%, and first-year retention is 72.4%.
What are Wayne State College's job outcomes?
Graduates of Wayne State College report median earnings of $52,406 four years after graduation, according to College Scorecard federal outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.
What is Wayne State College's student population?
Wayne State College enrolls about 3,010 undergraduate students, per College Scorecard enrollment data.
Contact Information
- Address Wayne, NE 68787
- Website www.wsc.edu
- Net Price Calculator Calculate Your Cost
- Financial AidView Financial Aid Information
- AccreditationHigher Learning Commission (NCACHE)
- Endowment$30.1M
- Transfer Enrollment Rate30.6%