West Liberty University Logo

West Liberty University

West Liberty, WV | Public | University

West Liberty University has an acceptance rate of 97.3%, an average net price of $8,988, and an overall rank of #849 (Grade B). About 52.1% of students graduate within 150% of normal time, and median earnings are $51,618 five years after graduation. Data from the U.S. Department of Education and EDsmart's 2026 rankings.

West Liberty University is a public university in West Liberty, WV. Students most often pursue Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing and Criminal Justice and Corrections.

Day to day, students benefit from a 12:1 student-faculty ratio, and 68.9% first-year retention. Coaches and faculty advisors weave in frequent check-ins, helping students translate ambition into steady progress.

EDsmart calculates return on investment at 123.8%, roughly 73.9 points higher than typical outcomes. It's well-suited to students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore.

B
Ranking
#849 of 1,934
How We Rank Schools Lower tuitionPublic school optionSmall campus feel
At a Glance
Ranking
#849 of 1,934 (Top 43.9%)
Tuition
$8,890
Net Price
$8,988
4-Year Tuition
$35,560
Acceptance Rate
97.3%
Transfer Rate
9.2%
Student Population
1,511
Student-Faculty
12:1
Grad Rate (150% time)
52.1%
Grad Rate (8-year)
54.7%
Retention Rate
68.9%
4-Yr Earnings
$51,618
ROI
Not reported

Who is West Liberty University Best For?

A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.

Students who thrive with close mentoring
Families tracking affordability closely
Learners who value a tight-knit campus
Students valuing supportive learning environments

EDsmart Scores Summary

Overall Ranking
#849 of 1,934
Top 43.9% of all institutions
EDsmart Score
56.2 / 100 (national index)
Curved score (top institution = 100.0)
Value Rating
2.81 / 5
Based on ROI and outcomes
Completion
B-
#1,072 of 1,934
Affordability
B+
#390 of 1,934
Support
B-
#1,081 of 1,934
Career Outcomes
B-
#1,238 of 1,934

West Liberty University graduates 52.1% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 54.7% and keeps 68.9% of first-year students. Affordability earns a B+ compared with similar schools.

How we calculate this →

Cost & Financial Aid

Quick Answers

What does it cost?
Depends on income
$1,272-$19,749 annual net price based on family income.
What's the graduation rate?
Somewhat likely
52.1% graduate within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings). The federal 8-year award rate is 54.7%. 35.4% complete in four years (IPEDS 100% time).
What are job outcomes?
Highly likely
92.0% of alumni are employed within three years of leaving. Median earnings five years after graduation are $51,618. Pay varies by major.
Get Your Personalized Cost Estimate

The costs shown are averages. Use West Liberty University's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.

Calculate Your Net Price →

Total Degree Cost Summary

4-Year Total Cost (Pay with Cash)
$107,340
$26,835 × 4 years
Average Total Cost (Pay with Financial Aid)
$41,692
$8,988 × 4.6 years average
Time to Degree
Average: 4.6 years | 4-Year Rate: 35.4% | 6-Year Rate: 52.1% | 8-Year Rate: 54.7%
Most students finish in about four to five years. Four-year completion is 35.4% and six-year completion is 52.1%.

Annual Cost Comparison

Pay with Cash
$26,835
Total annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses; excluding any financial aid, grants or scholarships.
Pay with Financial Aid
$8,988
Average annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses after financial aid, grants or scholarships.

Est. annual aid gap: $17,847 Cash cost of attendance minus average net price after aid.

Cost of Undergraduate Attendance

Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.

View cost of attendance line items
Costs to Consider Price
Tuition and Fees $8,890
Books and Supplies $1,230
On-Campus Room and Board $12,728
On-Campus Other Expenses $3,984
Total On-Campus Cost $26,835

Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.

Students Receiving Aid

Pell Grant
34.8%
Federal Loan
43.4%

Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.

EDsmart Insight: About 34.8% of West Liberty University students receive Pell Grants — slightly below the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.

Net Price by Family Income

Average annual net price after financial aid, based on family income. Your actual cost may vary depending on your specific financial situation.

$0 - $30,000
$1,272
Average annual cost for families earning $0-$30K
$30,001 - $48,000
$16,784
Average annual cost for families earning $30K-$48K
$48,001 - $75,000
$18,265
Average annual cost for families earning $48K-$75K
$75,001 - $110,000
$20,622
Average annual cost for families earning $75K-$110K
$110,001+
$19,749
Average annual cost for families earning $110K+

Understanding These Numbers: Net price varies significantly by income level. Low-income families pay less than $1,272 annually, while high-income families pay $19,749. Use West Liberty University's net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Typical total cost estimates (~4.6 years):
$0-$30K families
~$5,900
$30K-$48K families
~$77,855
$48K-$75K families
~$84,725
$75K-$110K families
~$95,658
AFFORDABILITY ALERT

If your family earns $75K-$110K: Expect to pay around $20,622/year

If your family earns $110K+: Expect to pay around $19,749/year

See all income brackets →

ROI & Career Outcomes

Return on Investment
Not reported
Based on median earnings five years after graduation vs. total degree cost
  • Median Earnings (5 Years After Graduation) $51,618
  • 10-Year Median Earnings $49,503
  • Average Years to Graduate 4.6 years
  • Average Student Debt $22,717
  • Debt-to-Earnings ~44.0%
  • Repayment Rate (3yr) 50.3%
  • Employment Rate 92.0%

Graduate Earnings Distribution

Earnings range for West Liberty University graduates about 10 years after enrollment (25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile). Different horizon than median earnings five years after graduation above.

Graduates earn a median of $51,618 five years after graduation — roughly 16% below the national median.
Payback Period
0.81 years
Total Degree Cost ÷ Annual Earnings

West Liberty University vs. National Average

Comparison of key performance metrics showing how West Liberty University's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes West Liberty University's performance within the broader higher education landscape.

Acceptance & Selectivity

Getting In

Acceptance Rate
97.3%
Lightly Selective
National Average
69%
Average acceptance rate
  • SAT Evidence-Based Reading 470-580
  • SAT Math 420-543
  • SAT Writing Not reported
  • ACT Composite 18-24
  • SAT & ACT Required
  • Undergraduate Enrollment 1,511
  • Full-Time Students 96.2%
  • Part-Time Students 3.8%
  • Retention Rate 68.9%
  • Grad Rate (150% time) 52.1%
  • Grad Rate (8-year) 54.7%
  • Student-Faculty Ratio 12:1

How to Get Into West Liberty University

1. Meet Academic Requirements: West Liberty University requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.

2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.

3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of 97.3%, West Liberty University is relatively open. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.

4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.

Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.

EDsmart Insight: With a 97.3% acceptance rate, West Liberty University is more accessible than highly selective schools. Meeting the test score ranges and maintaining a solid GPA significantly improves admission chances. The middle 50% of admitted students score between 890 and 1123 on the SAT.

Academic Programs

Undergraduate Program Distribution

Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among West Liberty University undergraduates. Business Administration, Management and Operations, Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods, and Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Hum draw the most students.

  • Business Administration, Management and Operations 16.0%
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods 14.5%
  • Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Hum 10.8%
  • Dental Support Services and Allied Professions 9.5%
  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing 8.2%
  • Biology, General 5.8%
See more majors
  • Criminal Justice and Corrections 5.8%
  • Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitnes 4.5%

Highest Earning Programs

Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.

Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)

  • 1. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing $59,610
  • 2. Criminal Justice and Corrections $54,642
  • 3. Dental Support Services and Allied Professions $53,420
Show additional high-earning majors
  • 4. Health and Physical Education/Fitness $48,007
  • 5. Dental Support Services and Allied Professions $47,566
  • 6. Business Administration, Management and Operations $44,582
  • 7. Design and Applied Arts $43,982
  • 8. Social Work $43,116
  • 9. Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods $42,828
  • 10. Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities $42,711

Graduate Programs (Master's, Doctoral, Professional)

  • 1. Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (Master's Degree) $110,294
  • 2. Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (Master's Degree) $52,360
  • 3. Business Administration, Management and Operations (Master's Degree) $48,588
Show additional graduate majors
  • 4. Educational Administration and Supervision (Master's Degree) $45,230

Program Choice Matters: Undergraduate: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing grads earn $59,610—40% more than Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($42,711). Graduate: Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions programs lead with $110,294 median earnings. Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.

Online Degrees & Distance Learning

U.S. Department of Education data reports fully online programs for West Liberty University. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education

Most Popular Online Degrees

  • Business Administration, Management and Operations (Master's Degree, 62 graduates)
  • Biology, General (Bachelor's Degree, 41 graduates)
  • Dental Support Services and Allied Professions (Associate's Degree, 34 graduates)
  • Dental Support Services and Allied Professions (Bachelor's Degree, 34 graduates)
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (Bachelor's Degree, 33 graduates)

What This School Offers Online, at a Glance

U.S. Department of Education data flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.

Online Bachelor's Degrees (28 programs)▼
  • Biology, General
  • Dental Support Services and Allied Professions
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods
  • Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness
  • Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
  • Criminal Justice and Corrections
  • Social Sciences, General
  • Psychology, General
  • Communication and Media Studies
  • Management Information Systems and Services
  • Communication Disorders Sciences and Services
  • Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions
  • Social Work
  • Design and Applied Arts
  • English Language and Literature, General
  • Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft
  • Education, General
  • Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions
  • Music
  • Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other
  • Chemistry
  • Educational Administration and Supervision
  • Security Science and Technology
  • Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication
  • Marketing
  • History
  • Geography and Cartography
  • Accounting and Related Services
Online Master's Degrees (7 programs)▼
  • Business Administration, Management and Operations
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods
  • Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions
  • Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology
  • Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness
  • Communication Disorders Sciences and Services
  • Educational Administration and Supervision
Online Doctoral Degrees (1 program)▼
  • Educational Administration and Supervision
Online Graduate/Professional Certificates (1 program)▼
  • Educational Administration and Supervision

Student Demographics

Student Population

  • Total Undergraduate Enrollment 1,511
  • Full-Time Students 96.2%
  • Part-Time Students 3.8%
  • Male Students 39.4%
  • Female Students 60.6%
  • Caucasian 81.5%
  • Asian 0.5%
  • Hispanic 0.2%
  • Black 5.3%
  • Pell Grant Recipients 34.8%

Racial & Ethnic Diversity

Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects West Liberty University's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.

Gender Distribution

Gender breakdown of West Liberty University's undergraduate population. The university maintains a roughly balanced gender distribution across its student body.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does West Liberty University support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
44.4%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
31.8%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
12.6 pts
equity gap to monitor

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a different rate as higher-income students, indicating varying levels of institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at West Liberty University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

EDsmart Insight: The student body is 81.5% White, reflecting less racial diversity than the national average. Women make up 60.6% of undergraduates.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does West Liberty University support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
44.4%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
31.8%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
12.6 pts
equity gap to monitor

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a different rate as higher-income students, indicating varying levels of institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at West Liberty University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

Our Take

West Liberty University serves as an affordable university for students seeking quality education without elite university costs. Ranked #849 overall with ROI data not available, the institution balances practical outcomes with budget-friendly pricing.

At $8,988 annually, students gain access to career-focused programs leading to $51,618 median earnings. The 52.1% graduation rate reflects reasonable completion metrics for a university. While 68.9% retention suggests adequate student support.

University Value: West Liberty University's Strengths

Ranked #849 with a B grade, West Liberty University prioritizes accessibility and local career connections over national prestige.

Primary Strengths: Universitys like West Liberty University excel at providing affordable education ($8,988 annually) with strong local employer relationships. Many programs emphasize practical skills and internships within the regional economy.

Best For: Students planning to work in the region after graduation benefit from established employer connections. Adult learners and part-time students appreciate flexible scheduling. First-generation students and budget-conscious families gain degrees without overwhelming debt.

Honest Assessment: West Liberty University's 68.9% retention and 52.1% graduation rate trail elite universities but align with typical university performance. Career outcomes ($51,618 median earnings) reflect regional job markets more than national opportunities.

Value Verdict: For students committed to regional careers, West Liberty University and $8,988 cost deliver solid value. Those seeking national job mobility or prestigious credentials should compare against flagship state universities or targeted private scholarships.

Key Takeaways

  • 52.1% graduation rate sits 10.4 points below the national 62.5% benchmark.
  • 68.9% first-year retention is 7.9 points below the national norm of 76.8%.
  • Median earnings of $51,618 run about 16% lower than national outcomes five years after graduation.
  • Average net price of $8,988 is roughly $10,920 lower than the national median of $19,908.
  • 92.0% employment rate within three years is 23.8 points above the national 68.2%.

Helpfulness for Students

Green Flags
  • 12:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
  • 68.9% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
  • 92.0% employment rate within three years sits 23.8 points above national outcomes.
Red Flags
  • Pell participation at 34.8% trails the national share by 3.9 points, so equity work remains important.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis

EDsmart rates West Liberty University—a public university in West Liberty, WV—at B overall. It holds a #849 overall ranking Category results include Completion (B-), Support (B-), Career Outcomes (B-), and Affordability (B+).

Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2026 methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.

Student momentum is strong: 68.9% retention, 52.1% graduation within 150% of normal time, and 54.7% earning an award within eight years. Review the cost and aid tables for a full picture of value.

Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.

EDsmart Financial Snapshot

Families pay about $8,988 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $26,835.

Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $17,847 per year.

Graduates leave with a median of $22,717 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.

About 34.8% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.

Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.

EDsmart Career Snapshot

Five years after graduation, alumni earn roughly $51,618 at the median. Compared with the national median, that's 16% lower.

The three-year employment rate is close to 92.0%.

Use the ROI table above to estimate how long it may take to recoup your degree costs.

Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.

EDsmart Admissions Snapshot

97.3% of applicants receive offers, so preparation and fit matter.

The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.

Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the West Liberty University admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.

Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.

EDsmart Verdict
2.81 / 5
Value Rating - Based on affordability and career outcomes

Your Decision Toolkit

Run the Net Price Calculator
Get your personalized cost estimate
Compare with similar schools
See how West Liberty University stacks up to alternatives
Check your major's earnings
See ROI for your specific field of study
Visit the campus
Schedule a campus tour or virtual visit
Visit West Liberty University Website →

Cite this profile

Add your access date when you publish.

APA (7th): EDsmart. (2026). West Liberty University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings. https://www.edsmart.org/schools/west-liberty-university/

MLA (9th): “West Liberty University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” EDsmart, 2026, www.edsmart.org/schools/west-liberty-university/.

Chicago: EDsmart. “West Liberty University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” https://www.edsmart.org/schools/west-liberty-university/.

Similar Schools

Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes

Nearby Schools

Other campuses you might consider

Other West Virginia campuses you might consider

Marshall University
Huntington, WV
B #839 of 1,934
Appalachian Bible College
Mount Hope, WV
B #799 of 1,934
West Virginia Wesleyan College
Buckhannon, WV
B #949 of 1,934
American Public University System
Charles Town, WV
B #965 of 1,934

Frequently Asked Questions

What is West Liberty University's acceptance rate?

West Liberty University's acceptance rate is 97.3%, based on U.S. Department of Education admissions data.

How much does West Liberty University cost?

At West Liberty University, listed tuition and fees are $8,890 per year, and the average net price after aid is $8,988. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.

What is West Liberty University's ranking?

West Liberty University ranks #849 overall in EDsmart's 2026 college rankings with an overall grade of B, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.

What is West Liberty University's graduation rate?

At West Liberty University, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 52.1% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), the federal 8-year award rate is 54.7%, and first-year retention is 68.9%.

What are West Liberty University's job outcomes?

Graduates of West Liberty University report median earnings of $51,618 five years after graduation, according to U.S. Department of Education outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.

What is West Liberty University's student population?

West Liberty University enrolls about 1,511 undergraduate students, per U.S. Department of Education enrollment data.

Contact Information

  • AccreditationHigher Learning Commission (NCACHE)
  • Endowment$19.8M
  • Transfer Enrollment Rate9.2%

Data Source & Methodology ▼